896 8-Year rum

896 8-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.6/10
31 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
12
4

Rate 896 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

31 896 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

NutterSipper ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.

Brentb1225 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 1 month ago

Very flavorful rum. Great room for Price definitely keep two bottles at the bar.

BlackGenie ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

A Great rum for mixing in coke or some ginger beer; brings out a lot of the flavor. It just isn't the best for sipping straight.

Djmillard (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 24 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Was tempted into this by the sleek labeling and the on-sale price tag of a mere $18 (if memory serves).

Mild, bordering on unexciting, but quite smooth. Moderately sweet as well. Gentle and caramely on the nose with only a slight alcohol nip. Maybe just a touch of vanilla, but flavors are really quite muted.

I do think this is quite a nice mixer, and have enjoyed a couple of great rum'n'cokes with it already. For sipping it's a bit uninteresting but fine for a quick dip now and then, as it's hardly unpleasant.

KrisE ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted over 1 year ago

Nose is pleasant
Feels a bit watery and cheap
But has some upside might make a better cocktail rum then a sipper

jackw625 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 37 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The flavor is what Iโ€™m looking for but it doesnโ€™t com through enough

poly.pop ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 38 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

On the nose, noticabley hotter than comparable bottles (Doorlys 8, etc) and less complex. Some caramel and vanilla up front, oaky almost bitter on the tail. Lacks the depth and fruity richness you'd expect from an 8yr Barbados rum.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 404 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This rum has a nice Golden brown hue I tend to love in my rums. It starts out with a full bodied scent, somewhat similar to Demerara rums from Guyana but it stops short. I have purchased it several times and for around $20 bottle I consider it a value as a mixer rum with full bodied flavor and can occasionally sip it like now.

I gave it a 6 as comparing to my staple table rum Pusserโ€™s that clearly is a bit superior.

xrodriguez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 24 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Not bad at all for the price. Worked well as both a sipper and a mixer for me

JeffBuck ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 80 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Not a ton of difference in the 5 and 8 year but is noticeable enough. Still considering this a mixer.

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Nice oak flavor when sipped, but afterburn a little strong. Oakieness took off when mixed




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: 896
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading