896 5-Year rum

896 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.7/10
20 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
9
1
1

Rate 896 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 896 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 362 ratings

Light golden color like Doorlyโ€™s 5 & 8. Exceeded my expectations for a $15 rum but not my thing. Good to have for novice rum and coke or soda drinkers. The 8 year is far superior.

Posted almost 5 years ago by M ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 30 ratings

Complex, rich & spicy
Hints of caramelized nuts, cedar, mocha. Aftertaste of banana ?
Recommend for sure especially as this price point . Better mixed

Posted over 5 years ago by Mark ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 59 ratings

Never heard of this rum and still not sure who makes it, but this is a good / inexpensive Barbados rum.

This rum has a nice golden colour. Unfortunately, the sweet rum scent was overpowered by a smell of rubbing alcohol. I was surprised that it tasted fairly mild (little burn) when sipped straight, and even better with some ice which took some of the harshness away.

This rum makes a really good "clean and simple" rum and cola.

Posted over 5 years ago by NutterSipper ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.

Posted over 5 years ago by jmp3 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 88 ratings

Decent sipper, good mixed with coke. Vanilla, sweet.

Posted 9 months ago by Roadking1997 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings

Decent rum, better as a mix than sipping. The 896 8 year is a much better sipping.

Posted 10 months ago by dzheyden ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings

at first i was iffy, but the more i drank it, the more i liked it. definitely a little different then what i was expecting / used to, but not bad. probably wonโ€™t buy this specific blend again, but i donโ€™t dislike it. so 6/10 seems fair. 100% a mixer to me as well.

Posted over 1 year ago by AntonioPatriarca ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings

This rum was nice and makes a good mixer, but it does not stand up to it's older brother.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 426 ratings

I was so impressed with my new bottle of 896 8-Year after a month that I went back to Total Wine to restock that one and get this one to compare side by side. Well, the 8-Year still stands head and shoulders above this one. Then it came time for the overall ranking of this one. I compared it to my Doorly's 5 Year, which narrowly edged this one out, and at half the price. I no longer see any reason to buy this rum unless the store is out of Doorly's 5 Year and 896 8-Year. It still rates as a 5, but there is simply way too much competition out there.

Update: This is the first rum that I have tried that can ruin a perfectly good coconut water and a perfectly good cola (separate drinks, of course). Since it is not good enough to sip neat or on the rocks, I desperately tried mixing it with a very good ginger ale. That saved it. So I cannot recommend this rum, but highly recommend it's 8 Year older brother. The two are like night and day.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings

Rating for this one reflects the taste and a $15.00 price. Flavor was okay straight, with a strongish afterburn, but when combined with coke and the price, the rating gets better.




Brand Details

Name: 5-Year
Company: 896
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 5
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
545
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514