896 5-Year rum

896 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.7/10
20 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
9
1
1

Rate 896 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 896 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Brantley ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

got this rum randomly sounded good very pleased with the taste very smooth straight and great mixer as well

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 371 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Light golden color like Doorlyโ€™s 5 & 8. Exceeded my expectations for a $15 rum but not my thing. Good to have for novice rum and coke or soda drinkers. The 8 year is far superior.

M ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 30 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Complex, rich & spicy
Hints of caramelized nuts, cedar, mocha. Aftertaste of banana ?
Recommend for sure especially as this price point . Better mixed

Mark ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 59 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Never heard of this rum and still not sure who makes it, but this is a good / inexpensive Barbados rum.

This rum has a nice golden colour. Unfortunately, the sweet rum scent was overpowered by a smell of rubbing alcohol. I was surprised that it tasted fairly mild (little burn) when sipped straight, and even better with some ice which took some of the harshness away.

This rum makes a really good "clean and simple" rum and cola.

NutterSipper ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.

jmp3 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 88 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Decent sipper, good mixed with coke. Vanilla, sweet.

Roadking1997 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Decent rum, better as a mix than sipping. The 896 8 year is a much better sipping.

dzheyden ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

at first i was iffy, but the more i drank it, the more i liked it. definitely a little different then what i was expecting / used to, but not bad. probably wonโ€™t buy this specific blend again, but i donโ€™t dislike it. so 6/10 seems fair. 100% a mixer to me as well.

AntonioPatriarca ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This rum was nice and makes a good mixer, but it does not stand up to it's older brother.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 447 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I was so impressed with my new bottle of 896 8-Year after a month that I went back to Total Wine to restock that one and get this one to compare side by side. Well, the 8-Year still stands head and shoulders above this one. Then it came time for the overall ranking of this one. I compared it to my Doorly's 5 Year, which narrowly edged this one out, and at half the price. I no longer see any reason to buy this rum unless the store is out of Doorly's 5 Year and 896 8-Year. It still rates as a 5, but there is simply way too much competition out there.

Update: This is the first rum that I have tried that can ruin a perfectly good coconut water and a perfectly good cola (separate drinks, of course). Since it is not good enough to sip neat or on the rocks, I desperately tried mixing it with a very good ginger ale. That saved it. So I cannot recommend this rum, but highly recommend it's 8 Year older brother. The two are like night and day.

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Rating for this one reflects the taste and a $15.00 price. Flavor was okay straight, with a strongish afterburn, but when combined with coke and the price, the rating gets better.




Brand Details

Name: 5-Year
Company: 896
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 5

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading