896 5-Year rum

896 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.7/10
20 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
9
1
1

Rate 896 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

20 896 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

NutterSipper 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.

JeffBuck 🇺🇸 | 80 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Good for the price but also a mixer for me. Mor similar to Doorly's than other Foursquare offerings.

Roger Averill 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Just recieved as a gift...never heard of before....smooth and easy drinking with a nice melow flavor

bill 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I like it but Mount Gay and Foursquare make better sipping rums. Although 896 is price right. Worth having.

Ken 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Thanks to Total Wine in DE for the amazing selection of rums. This is an interesting complex rum that has some nice dark flavors. I would give it a 7 1/2 if possible and it is a good value. If you like a more mature version (that is aged and not sweet) of a dark spiced rum,this is an option. Unfortunately, there are so many, better alternatives that it will be a while before I try it again.

Ryan 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

It was very Good. Here are my minimum 50 characters.

deniz adams 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Great bottle.
Ok! nose, alcohol comes strong :)
Great finish, buttery
Great prize ;)

Brantley 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

got this rum randomly sounded good very pleased with the taste very smooth straight and great mixer as well

Bill 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

A very smooth rum with a bit of bite. Overall a good taste and a delicious buttery smell. Definitely recommend letting it breath first

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Just purchased the 5 year old at Total Wine and More in Florida as it is probably one of the only stores that carries it. Too bad as this is an enjoyable sipper. Amber colored and a mixture of fruity and woody flavors with some spice an nutty.
At $17 this is a steal and for $22 you can get it's older sibling the 8 year old which offers even more with the additional 3 years to rest in the barrel.
Definitely should be a staple rum at home...

Bob 🇺🇸 | 74 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Good stuff with a dried fruit, mild funk, and tiny bit of coconut finish. I took it to a party and we drank the whole bottle between a few people. Everyone liked it more than any bourbon on hand. No specific flavor really POPs but the ones that are present are tasty and the rum is very smooth overall. Solid stuff and I can't wait to try the 8 yr!




Brand Details

Name: 5-Year
Company: 896
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 5

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading