Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
641 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
8
18
57
149
261
123
17

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

641 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jan Mynar 🇨🇿 | 53 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

The taste is complicated, but very very pleasant. The rum is “only” 5 years aged in Caribbean and it makes it slightly biting, the next mature process in Europe gave it mainly the sherry flavors and smoothness in the throat. But the afterburn of the rum is quite intensive, I have to say that is something I like, and was amazed from. You can feel, from every sip, you are drinking not an extra aged or premium rum, but younger product with tremendous care and delicate sherry tones.
read more on my blog:
http://www.rumtips.com/2017/06/dos-maderas-55-young-traveller.html

Dave 🇺🇸 | 36 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Very nice rum, but I like Ron Zacapa 23 and El Dorado 21 better. Sipped it straight with one ice cube.

YMHC 🇳🇱 | 162 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Zeer zoete 5 jaar oude rum die daarna ook nog 5 jaar gerijpt is op spaanse sherry vaten. Wel lekker op zich maar niet écht rum meer, had van mij wat minder naar sherry/port mogen smaken.
(40%)

Edit:
36 gr/liter suiker toegevoegd. Punt minder.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Dos Maderas 5+5 je směs rumů, které zrály 5 let v Karibiku (Guyana, Barbados), pak byly převezeny do Španělska, kde ve sklepech firmy Williams & Humbert zrají dalších 5 let v sudech po sherry, z toho 3 roky po Palo Cortado a dva roky po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Hluboká, mohutná vůně, z ktreré je Pedro Ximénez opravdu znát. Lékořice, sirupová nasládlost, kůže, anýz, trochu občas inklinuje i k portskému, s lehkým dotekem hutné ovocné přezrálosti. (88 b)
Chuť: Lékořice, opálené sudy, sladkost PX se tu míchá se suchostí sherry v dochuti, k tomu topinky a med. (91 b)
Body: 90
Shrnutí: Pár lahví Pedro Ximénez jsem v poslední době měl možnost ochutnat a vliv těchto sudů na rum je opravdu markantní. Přitom však stále víte, že opravdu pijete rum. Tohle je originální kousek, který se výrazně odlišuje od ostatních rumů. Za celkové vyznění a originalitu rád zaokrouhluju hodnocení směrem nahoru.

Brian Bak 🇩🇰 | 20 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Dufter rigtigt lækkert og har en flot gylden farve, men smagen er efter min mening meget sprittet og domineres af sherry og fad med en yderst begrænset smagsudviklingen.

fifonlaideur 🇫🇷 | 25 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Une belle découverte et une belle réussite pour cet excellent rhum.

guewen 🇫🇷 | 97 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Rhum sucré, nite de miel et de vanille...un veritable délice !

Federicobz 🇨🇷 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

This is a very particular rum, and is basically attributed to the way it was aged, and that endures even after you taste it. I like the two aging process, first in the Caribbean and then faraway into Spain to finish it's process. I enjoyed very much it's particular taste, I do felt the sherry notes present due to the aging process in Pedro Ximenez and i think it enrich the rum taste in a different way but in a really good different way, I like the balance between flavors, it is very smooth, as I say I like the rum for the process and it's particularity which makes it different and unique.

Kenneth Olesen 🇩🇰 | 77 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Sødme 8/10
Lidt tam næse.
Sjov krads kortvarig smag som runder ud i noter af lakrids og sherry.
Købt 2014
Pris. 270 DV

Leon 🇩🇪 | 34 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Very good marriage of sherry and rum. Reminded me of bourbon on the tongue, the nose is more sherry-like and the finish reveals the rum.

Richard k 🇨🇦 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Like the finish in the port barrels I can sit and drink this bottle all by myself




Brand Details

Name: PX 5+5
Company: Dos Maderas
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading