Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
633 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
8
18
57
144
260
122
16

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

633 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings

Very sweet, and heavy on vanilla/Butterscotch/baking spice. Not a very traditional rum.

Posted over 7 years ago by YMHC 🇳🇱 | 162 ratings

Zeer zoete 5 jaar oude rum die daarna ook nog 5 jaar gerijpt is op spaanse sherry vaten. Wel lekker op zich maar niet écht rum meer, had van mij wat minder naar sherry/port mogen smaken.
(40%)

Edit:
36 gr/liter suiker toegevoegd. Punt minder.

Posted over 7 years ago by HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings

Dos Maderas 5+5 je směs rumů, které zrály 5 let v Karibiku (Guyana, Barbados), pak byly převezeny do Španělska, kde ve sklepech firmy Williams & Humbert zrají dalších 5 let v sudech po sherry, z toho 3 roky po Palo Cortado a dva roky po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Hluboká, mohutná vůně, z ktreré je Pedro Ximénez opravdu znát. Lékořice, sirupová nasládlost, kůže, anýz, trochu občas inklinuje i k portskému, s lehkým dotekem hutné ovocné přezrálosti. (88 b)
Chuť: Lékořice, opálené sudy, sladkost PX se tu míchá se suchostí sherry v dochuti, k tomu topinky a med. (91 b)
Body: 90
Shrnutí: Pár lahví Pedro Ximénez jsem v poslední době měl možnost ochutnat a vliv těchto sudů na rum je opravdu markantní. Přitom však stále víte, že opravdu pijete rum. Tohle je originální kousek, který se výrazně odlišuje od ostatních rumů. Za celkové vyznění a originalitu rád zaokrouhluju hodnocení směrem nahoru.

Posted over 7 years ago by Brian Bak 🇩🇰 | 20 ratings

Dufter rigtigt lækkert og har en flot gylden farve, men smagen er efter min mening meget sprittet og domineres af sherry og fad med en yderst begrænset smagsudviklingen.

Posted over 7 years ago by fifonlaideur 🇫🇷 | 25 ratings

Une belle découverte et une belle réussite pour cet excellent rhum.

Posted over 7 years ago by guewen 🇫🇷 | 97 ratings

Rhum sucré, nite de miel et de vanille...un veritable délice !

Posted over 7 years ago by Federicobz 🇨🇷 | 5 ratings

This is a very particular rum, and is basically attributed to the way it was aged, and that endures even after you taste it. I like the two aging process, first in the Caribbean and then faraway into Spain to finish it's process. I enjoyed very much it's particular taste, I do felt the sherry notes present due to the aging process in Pedro Ximenez and i think it enrich the rum taste in a different way but in a really good different way, I like the balance between flavors, it is very smooth, as I say I like the rum for the process and it's particularity which makes it different and unique.

Posted over 7 years ago by Kenneth Olesen 🇩🇰 | 77 ratings

Sødme 8/10
Lidt tam næse.
Sjov krads kortvarig smag som runder ud i noter af lakrids og sherry.
Købt 2014
Pris. 270 DV

Posted over 7 years ago by Leon 🇩🇪 | 34 ratings

Very good marriage of sherry and rum. Reminded me of bourbon on the tongue, the nose is more sherry-like and the finish reveals the rum.

Posted over 7 years ago by Richard k 🇨🇦 | 5 ratings

Like the finish in the port barrels I can sit and drink this bottle all by myself

Posted almost 8 years ago by niko_aqm 🇫🇷 | 14 ratings

Il fallait oser aller aussi loin dans le côté Sherry, et je trouve que c'est très bien réussi. Assez atypique car son côté Porto n'a pas d'égal chez d'autres rhums.
Il a les caractéristiques d'un rhum de tradition anglaise (boisé, subtilement fruité, tabac, épices douces...) et un côté prune voire même pruneau très présent et fin à la fois.
Très sympa à l'apéritif (avec un petit jambon serrano)
Une autre belle porte d'entrée dans le monde du rhum




Brand Details

Name: PX 5+5
Company: Dos Maderas
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2923
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514