Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
633 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
8
18
57
144
260
122
16

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

633 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Cowboy Neal ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 31 ratings

Very sweet, and heavy on vanilla/Butterscotch/baking spice. Not a very traditional rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul Unwin ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings

Very nice rum its very easy drinking and you can taste the sherry cask, so many great rums to taste and I'm at the end of this bottle, on to the next.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Orlando ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings

This is a great rum for the price and surprisingly tasty because of the 5+5 blend.

Posted over 2 years ago by KaemonAwa ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 46 ratings

Nice bottle with a cool story, this rum opens up with a rather sweet dose of spices in the aroma, followed by smooth smell of fruit and what I presume to be sherry after also tasting the sherry minibottles that came with the rum. The end of the aroma also catches a nice dried plum scent. Dark copper colour, medium legs run down my glass quite slowly after twirling it a few times..
The taste is very strange for me, and includes some biterness, honey, sherry and generally fruity taste, some tastes also found in heavy dry red wines, and alcohol but very manageable amount. Upon adding a few drops of water (tried 2-3 drops into a 0.02l amount of the spirit), the taste seems to smoothen around the edges and become less artificially sweet and more honey-like.
Almost no afterburn or exit, makes me wonder if this ain't a sweet syrup for kids or something. Oh and makes a crazy cool mixer to make your cocktails just a little different, however not sure it is priced as a casual mixer for everyone. Cannot say I do not like it, one glass is an interesting experience, but I would prefer to sip something else through the evening. Also offered this to three laides, each of whom was kinda happy, but nothing exceptional, They were only astonished by the rum once I actually used it to mix their favourite drinks, Jungle Bird, Daiquiri, "tequilla" sunrise and a non-jamaican Planter's Punch.

Posted over 2 years ago by Clins87 ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 34 ratings

Very good sweet smell. Taste also sweet, hangs in your mouth for a good time.

Posted over 2 years ago by v63d ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 8 ratings

First of all, if you don't like sherry or sherry aroma, you should keep your hands off this rum. But if you get involved, you will find a great, pleasantly sweet and mild rum with a wonderful sherry aroma. At the beginning I was a bit sceptical because I generally don't drink sherry very often, but this rum is something different. Not too sweet, hardly any alcoholic bite and a sherry note that is not too strong and harmonizes wonderfully with the other flavours. Nearly full score!

Posted 4 years ago by Brian Platten ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 1 rating

With ice it dilutes a little too much so go easy I'll try the frozen soapstone cubes

Posted at Mimi Crabhouse almost 5 years ago by Gerome ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 43 ratings

At first nose it burns with a very sweet scent of sugar or something. Taste like Remy Martin VSOP or some type of cognac in the front and then sweet raisins and Sherry. It's a very full body with syrup like after taste. The after taste lingers, I had a beef burger prior to popping the top, it I think it helped my palet accept the different flavors. I didn't use my snifter so I'll revisit the ๐Ÿ‘ƒ at a later date. It does resemble diplomatic reserve exclusiva in sweetness but two different tastes.

To be honest I could drink this as a regular daily sipper. I tried it neat as I like all my rums so I can not give commentary on what water or ice gives or takes away. I would choose Foursquare Port no sugar over this any day or time of year. If you can find it for less then 40$ I would get it if above 40$ I wouldn't get it I would reach for Foursquare 11 year all day.

Posted over 5 years ago by Roc James ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings

After reading reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. Let it breath for about 30 minutes, and I was a little scared how much it smelled like sherry and not rum but it's the closet thing to heaven I've ever experienced.

Posted over 5 years ago by Markus Lehto ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 44 ratings

Dark brown, mahogany. Soft but strong aroma, oak and barrel softnes. Dried fruits and light laquer. Thick mouthfeel, soft nuts, dried fruits.

Posted over 5 years ago by Blacky ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น | 85 ratings

"Er isch nit schlecht" hat sie gsagt die Birgit ๐Ÿ˜Š genieรŸen ihn grad auf der Terasse




Brand Details

Name: PX 5+5
Company: Dos Maderas
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2923
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514