Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
670 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
9
20
60
156
273
127
17

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

670 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

zellrom 🇫🇷 | 24 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Un rhum très boisé à l'ambivalence envoûtante. Il faut saluer l'initiative de Williams&Humbert qui en créant la marque, que dis-je, le label Dos Maderas a su faire preuve d'inventivité ainsi que de discernement. Le double vieillissement donne ici naissance à un rhum manquant certe encore un peu de finesse mais indubitablement fort d'un caractère entêtant et particulier. Le Dos Maderas PX est de ces rhums qui marquent l'amateur d'une empreinte unique et indélébile.

mcsolar 🇨🇿 | 34 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This rum is unusual - aged in PX casks, it's just way sweeter than a rum should be! If you're in the mood for sweet - it goes down a treat though. Very sherry, thick and sweet. I like it.

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 67 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Now, in order to enjoy this rum, you must be prepared for intense sweetness. The Pedro Ximenez Sherry casks impart loads of rich sugary flavors. Raisins, apricots, figs, etc.
It's been said that they even add some Sherry to the solera casks during continental aging.
All said this is very flavorful rum, but too sweet and not proofy enough for me.

O'Neill 🇨🇿 | 46 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I was expecting very sweet and decent rum and I wasn't disappointed. 5+5 is very mild rum and with It's good looking bottle suitable gift aswell. From my point of view It's rum from group which I call honeyrums and tastes excelent!

Per71 🇸🇪 | 79 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Great smooth rum, with chocolate, vanilla and sherry notes.
Will definitely buy again !

Paul Unwin 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Very nice rum its very easy drinking and you can taste the sherry cask, so many great rums to taste and I'm at the end of this bottle, on to the next.

Orlando 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is a great rum for the price and surprisingly tasty because of the 5+5 blend. It's just a little bit too sweet.

KaemonAwa 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Nice bottle with a cool story, this rum opens up with a rather sweet dose of spices in the aroma, followed by smooth smell of fruit and what I presume to be sherry after also tasting the sherry minibottles that came with the rum. The end of the aroma also catches a nice dried plum scent. Dark copper colour, medium legs run down my glass quite slowly after twirling it a few times..
The taste is very strange for me, and includes some biterness, honey, sherry and generally fruity taste, some tastes also found in heavy dry red wines, and alcohol but very manageable amount. Upon adding a few drops of water (tried 2-3 drops into a 0.02l amount of the spirit), the taste seems to smoothen around the edges and become less artificially sweet and more honey-like.
Almost no afterburn or exit, makes me wonder if this ain't a sweet syrup for kids or something. Oh and makes a crazy cool mixer to make your cocktails just a little different, however not sure it is priced as a casual mixer for everyone. Cannot say I do not like it, one glass is an interesting experience, but I would prefer to sip something else through the evening. Also offered this to three laides, each of whom was kinda happy, but nothing exceptional, They were only astonished by the rum once I actually used it to mix their favourite drinks, Jungle Bird, Daiquiri, "tequilla" sunrise and a non-jamaican Planter's Punch.

Clins87 🇩🇰 | 36 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Very good sweet smell. Taste also sweet, hangs in your mouth for a good time.

v63d 🇩🇪 | 8 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

First of all, if you don't like sherry or sherry aroma, you should keep your hands off this rum. But if you get involved, you will find a great, pleasantly sweet and mild rum with a wonderful sherry aroma. At the beginning I was a bit sceptical because I generally don't drink sherry very often, but this rum is something different. Not too sweet, hardly any alcoholic bite and a sherry note that is not too strong and harmonizes wonderfully with the other flavours. Nearly full score!

Brian Platten 🇨🇦 | 1 rating
Posted almost 5 years ago

With ice it dilutes a little too much so go easy I'll try the frozen soapstone cubes




Brand Details

Name: PX 5+5
Company: Dos Maderas
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading