Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Dos Maderas 5+3

Barbados | Aged

6.3/10
103 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
11
45
24
13
2
1

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

103 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

jepoycat πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­ | 31 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Not unpleasant and inoffensive, a pretty good entry-level rum for those looking to see how sherry cask maturation affects flavor.

Paul B πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 448 ratings
Posted 11 days ago

This is another one that I got my hands on within the past year and never bothered to submit a review. Just spend some more money to get their PX 5+5, unless this is their only one available.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Got the Dos Maderas gift pack as a gift from the RumRatings club team.
The content is a full bottle of 5+5 and four samples, one each of the rum base, the Dos Cortados Sherry, the 5+3 and the Don Guido Pedro Ximenez(PX) Sherry.

I started the tasting with the base which is a blend of 5yo rum from Guyana(DDL) and 5yo rum from Barbados (a little unclear if it comes from WIRD or Foursquare, seen both data) imported to Jerez in Spain, it’s quite good and I can clearly recognize Demerara. There’s probably a decent part Port Mourant in it.
Thereafter I went on with the Dos Cortados Sherry, which is very dry.
Then time for the 5+3, there the 5 stands for the aging of the base in the Caribbean and the 3 for 3 years of Solera aging in used Dos Cortados barrels in Jerez. These 3 years gives a clear footprint to the base and makes it drier.
From nose to the medium long finish I recognize dry Sherry, vanilla, caramel, oak and fruit. It’s just slightly sweet and quite good even if it not really can compete with the Sherry finished English Harbour.

At this stage (5+3) I feel that it’s an English styled rum.

For the rest of the tasting of the gift pack see my review of the 5+5.

Pictures: Content of the gift pack & The emptied sample of the 5+3.

Harrie πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 91 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Fruity (orange mostly) with a hint of charred oak and a little vanilla on the nose, all very light. More spice and nuts on the palate with a hint of sherry (brandy). A little mocha bitter in the end and (thank you, thank you) not that much sugar added. Ok, not really dry but close enough to keep all the fresh and fruity notes alive.

Nice and light sipper for a change of flavours but at its pricepoint underperforming; I can buy a Mount Gay XO (with some change left) or a Doorly's 12yo and there is no way this comes even remotely close.

Pavel πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 134 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

it's just flat, the smell is better than the taste, nevertheless, it's easy to drink

Robert πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° | 44 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I really like 5+5, it is one of my top choices, 5+3 is quite interesting and I recommend it to all, price is cool, taste is interesting - I advise to have couple of shots, first time we had it we were like - ooh the smell is so so nice, but the taste was rough and dry far from 5+5, the next day I made a small tasting for friends, while trying also El Dorado 8YO, and some "high class" rums, and suddenly the taste "jumped" to the good spectrum... we were surprised, maybe it has something to do with going through young El Dorado which is dryer and more rough, so the final verdict is - it is worth trying and I will buy it some other time :-)
:

Razvan πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 30 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

A bit dry, with strong alcohol scent. It opens up in a bit sweet vanila and oak

Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Sugar: estimated at 14 -16 GPL. This rum is no where near the 5+5 big brother. The Sherry taste is there along with some vanilla, ginger, and honey. It's got a strong alcohol aroma with a trace of something akin to sulphur. It took me back to the 70's when we used to get used whiskey or rum barrels and put water in them to eventually create a wild beverage called "Barrel Wash". Long and strong on the alcohol and short on smoothness. Definitely a "Mix Only" type of rum.

Marc Cardinal πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 399 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

5 years in oak casks + 3 years in spain in sherry Dos Cortados casks in solera system. Interesting method of aging already used by different company but the double or triple aging is the "marque de fabrique" of Dos Maderas. Sweet notes of dried fruits (nuts) and toasted aroma in the mouth. Sweet but not very long aftertaste. Need more maturity. Waiting to taste big brother...

Amcclendon93 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 4 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

A nice lighter amber color. A little bit sweet with a little bit of funk. It was best on the rocks, but also good neat.

Brody πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 106 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Tasty smooth rum. Taste of rasins, vanilla, figs, cherry.




Brand Details

Name: 5+3
Company: Dos Maderas
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading