Don Q Gold rum

Don Q Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Don Q Gold rum is produced in Puerto Rico by the famed Serralles family. The ""Gold"" brand is aged between 1-5 years and then carbon filtered.

Don Q has over 140 years of history with the original distillery being founded in 1865. Its name is derived from the famous La Mancha character Don Quixote.

5.2/10
46 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
15
13
6
1

Rate Don Q Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

46 Don Q Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Markus Lehto 🇫🇮 | 44 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Light straw colored, like white wine or cider. Light aroma, like an rubbing alcohol. Lightly sharp taste, a lot of alcohol. Use in a drink, maybe...?

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I get shy and bright nose. Nothing special, it's not harsh but simple.
The taste starts watery but warm with vanilla from the bourbon white oak. It turns spicy, I get also some bitter notes and a light fruity taste. At the end is some bourbon oak and some chocolate notes.

Very simple and young rum. I would rate it with 46 points.

Nose: vanilla, white oak, some citrus a fruit like peach or apple (it's very shy)
Taste: vanilla, some peach, some spice, some bitter notes, bourbon wood, some chocolate
Finish: spice, vanilla

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 1/5
Value (16.9€): 1.5/5

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 571 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

This is a wired rum as it's labelled as a golden rum but it is really light in colour. Myself I like a really flavourful golden aged rum and this is more along the lines of a white rum than gold which is what makes its bizarre.

Matthew Brown 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

It's hard to understand exactly how the gold is so much worse than the cristal. This is not a good spirit but there are plenty worse, and may have a better rating than it deserves because of my reluctant ambivalence to the brand

Cracker 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

At this price point, I think there are much better rums out there like Flor De Cana 4 year and Cruzan. Don Q gold has a harsh alcohol "bouquet" and a somewhat "chemical" flavor to me. It's drinkable but I'm not inclined to buy it again, even as a mixing rum.

Mark 🇨🇦 | 59 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This rum's colour is a faint yellow - not very "gold" at all. It smells like rubbing alcohol and has a harsh taste with a hint of sweetness... Doesn't look or taste like an aged rum, and when mixed with cola its drinkable, but really more comparable to a white rum.

Natalio 🇦🇷 | 68 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Un ron ideal para mezclar, un sabor impresionante para mezclar

DB 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted 12 days ago

Not as smooth as the Cristal, but definitely a different experience. Some alcohol on the nose and taste, a bit of burn. Colorful on the nose, I get mostly clove. Palate is a bit more diverse with light hints of vanilla and cinnamon, and a hint of oak, but clove still seems to dominate. Certainly not my favorite in a Daiquiri, but it isn't terrible. Good for mixing, a bit rough as a sipper, but would do in a pinch.

andorufergu 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Comparing this to bacardi and other generic gold rums, Don Q is much preferred. Much more poplular among Puerto Ricans as well.

MDrumrunner 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This poured a lighter color, definitely a pale gold. Not much of a nose, very light vanilla hint in there. The taste was pretty one dimensional too. I had higher hopes for this after trying Cristal. This one works better in some of the mixed drinks I've made with it.