Posting your rating...
Don Q Cristal rum

Don Q Cristal

Puerto Rico | Light

6.1/10
80 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
18
16
23
11
1
5

Rate Don Q Cristal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

80 Don Q Cristal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by MDrumrunner from United States with 5 ratings

This was my intro to rum and liked it from the start. I really like it mixed with Pepsi and will go to it for other mixed drinks as well.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

Neutral in flavor, so it won't stand out on your drink. Yes, a little alcohol burn. Well balanced (quality, consistency, price, etc.), light but don't be to confident, still 40% alcohol per volume and with all sugar content of some drinks, you could end with a nasty headache. All in all, best option for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

Has been my well rum for a long, long time. Excellent call spirit for any number of "and" cocktails, hemmingways, and a very light mojito.

Column distilling doesn't murder the cane juice. Still get a little bit of burnt sugars through the heavy sugar cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Alejandro from Puerto Rico with 1 rating

Best rum in the Caribbean. It's taste mixes well with everything, especially for a "Cuba Libre". It's ten times better than your regular Bacardi. From Don Q Crystal to all it's flavors it is excellently made. I've been a rum drinker all my life and DonQ is by far my number 1 choice. Those who do not like it, don't know how to appreciate a good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by David Meyers from United States with 14 ratings

Very very popular in Puerto Rico where I tried it. It was not for me. Not a fan

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Will satisfy in a pinch and best on the rocks. Clean flavor for those who want non-flavored rum taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hauleyboy from Puerto Rico with 16 ratings

Clean, light, with a sweet finish. Great for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Butterscotch and pineapple nose with a pineapple-chocolate finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

So far I have infused with pineapple and lime with good results.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Hector from United States with 2 ratings

This rum is very well distilled, very clean, smooth and elegant. Mix well with everything, I prefer it with Coke and a wedge of lime. Cuba Libre!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

I dont drink my whites straight, 99% of the time its a bad idea. Whites are meant to mix. Not like it was an intention, just when you age rum less then 2-3 years the smoothness isnt all there and most of the time its like drinking vanilla enriched fire. DonQ smells like isopropyl alcohol to a T so I wasn't about to drink this straight. But I did anyway for the love of all my readers and its harsh upfront with a calm mid and then a bite as it goes down. Strong alcohol taste with some vanilla and thats about it. Very basic rum but for the price (11$ here in michigan) it walks bacardi superior and C morgan white. Its good in diet coke. What I like about it is the naturalness. B superior and C morgan whites taste very manufactured and extract tasting. This sticks to a more natural flavor. Although its not an exceptionally good white it is a very good mixer. It has a potent flavor which stays by in mixed drinks and the sugar of some mixed drinks gets rid of its bitter aftertaste. There is better white rums but for the price hey you cant beat it. If you like natural vanilla with and little heat this one is for you, woodsy rum people (me) this one is a no-go.