Posting your rating...
Don Q Anejo rum

Don Q Anejo

Puerto Rico | Gold

6.3/10
75 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
16
22
24
8
1
1

Rate Don Q Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

75 Don Q Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 6 years ago by Barclay Webster from United States with 9 ratings

I love this rum. It shows what real aged rum is, but doesn't go too far by adding a whole bunch of flavors, molasses and sugar to make a point. It mixes incredibly well and is decent to sip. The price point is beyond fair and the palate showcases a clear caramel butter scotch profile.

If you want a better rum for this for the money you're out of luck. You may be able to find a 'smoother' or more 'complex' rum, but I would bet you that the rum you're talking about has been watered down with a whole a bunch of stuff that shouldn't be found in rum. Also, I'd doubt it was aged nearly as long as this one and it'd probably be distilled to much higher proof to allow for greater profitability when ageing. shipping, etc.

If you live in the U.S., you'll also notice that some of the top bars in the country have picked up on how good of cocktails this rum can make. However, the best thing to do is get a bottle and some decent recipes to try out for yourself!

Posted almost 5 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 24 ratings

This is one of (3) rums I recommend to all rum drinker types and to introduce a novie to "the better stuff". At $16 it is the best rum I can find under $20. Decent to sip, good on the rocks and makes an excellent Cuba Libre.

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum (PREMIUM) from Switzerland with 470 ratings

Helles honiggelb im Glas
In der Nase ein kleiner Strauss mit frischgepflückten Blumen und frischen tropischen Früchten umgeben von einem hauch Vanille.
Im Gaumen sehr mild und ? Wer hat meinem Rum die Aromen gekaut !? Ah, doch da sind Spuren von Vanille und Früchte. Das Ganze wirkt etwas wässerig und verdünnt aber dennoch harmonisch und lecker.
Im Abgang erstaunlich lang ein wenig nach frisch gepresstem Zuckerrohr.
Ein junger Aromatischer Rum für Einsteiger oder zum Mixen.

Bright honey yellow in the glass
In the nose a small bouquet of freshly picked flowers and fresh tropical fruits surrounded by a hint of vanilla.
Very mild on the palate and? Who chewed the aromas of my rum? Ah, but there are traces of vanilla and fruits. The whole thing looks a bit watery and diluted but still harmonious and delicious.
In the finish surprisingly long a little after freshly pressed sugar cane.
A young aromatic rum for beginners or for mixing.

Posted 1 month ago by Staal from Denmark with 56 ratings

This is one of the most discreet rums I have tried. Not much to say about this. Taste is quite anonymous. It doesn't brag. Not much taste. However it does have quite a long and powerful aftertaste. All in all very boring but not bad.

Posted 5 months ago by MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) from United States with 67 ratings

Don Q doesn’t get enough credit. The quality and value are simply unmatched when you consider the alternatives.

Posted 10 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 150 ratings

The nose is strong, esthery, with tropical fruits, after while it reveals also cocoa, oak and leather. The taste starts with fruity sweet notes, turning toward mild oak, hint of tobacco, dark chocolate, ending with a bitter sweet cocoa dot which lasts in the pleasant and long aftertaste with a bit of an alcohol kick. Overall the rum is very well crafted, with no apparent artificial components besides caramel coloring, to a certain point it reminds me of Bajan rums - which means I like it. It is smooth enough to enjoy neat and it is very reasonably priced, so it can be used as a premium mixer too.

Posted 1 year ago by Cpt.J from United States with 14 ratings

Really, it’s what you’d expect for the price. Don q does have, in my opinion, the best white rum, but this just isn’t up to that standard.

Posted over 1 year ago by krasnal from Poland with 48 ratings

No w końcu udało się trafić rozsądny rum. Dobry. Polecam

Posted over 1 year ago by carl from United States with 58 ratings

At $16 per bottle, this one is hard to beat. It’s almost a sipper in its own right, fairly dry with a little burn. It really shines as a high-end mixer, which is in line with the price. It makes a nice rum old fashioned as well :-)

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 106 ratings

A bit harsh on the nose and tongue this is not a sipper. Okay as a mixer but the lack of body makes it mediocre at best. Some of the harsh taste even comes out with coke. Have not tried it as a blender and probably won’t, can’t see this taste profile adding to any cocky.

Each to their own but this is not going to have a place in my bar...

Posted 2 years ago by Mujuru from United States with 98 ratings

This is ok to mix but it I find it a bit too bland and harsh to drink straight up. I find Havana Club Anejo to be superior both in terms of versatility and taste. Puerto Rican’s I know swear by this rum, but I think there are better options even from Puerto Rico. Maybe it just doesn’t fit my preferred flavor profiles.

Nose: 5
Palate: 5
Aftertaste: 5
Smoothness: 4
Versatility: 7
Price: 6

Total: 5.3