Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10
366 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
38
112
127
64
11

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

366 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by Rick 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings

Just thick enough to make it enjoyable, but not so much as to create too much of a syrupy experience. Nice spices come through as well.

Posted over 9 years ago by LDNShindiggery 🇬🇧 | 71 ratings

I used to sell this a while back in an old bar i worked in and remember trying it around the time i was really falling in love with rum (Dont get me wrong ive always loved rum, but theres a time when your growing up and its no longer 'ooh i like rum, ill ave a rum n coke' and it becomes 'seriously i friggin LOVE rum let me see your selection, line up those 6 i need to try them all!!') as i was saying, it was a small place and this was probably the best rum in there! Opens with almost a fruit brulee integrating the caramel, citrus, light spice and dried fruits but lasts on the palate leaving you with a creamy, chocolatety sweetness that goes on so long and so smooth. We like!

Posted over 5 years ago by jsanca 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings

From Venezuela, this very value price rum demonstrates some very sweet notes on nose. You can smell some fruitiness, vanilla, toffee and again sugar cane sweet such as honey.

On the glass you can see a mahogany colour, kinda density and decent legs. The taste is kinda smooth, delicious and sweet of course.

Such as the Diplomatico Reserva exclusiva, but with less woody.

Posted 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 513 ratings

This is a great rum. I love Diplomatico!

Not quite as sweet or smooth as the Diplomatico Exclusiva, but still great - especially for the incredibly low price of only $19.99 (Total Wines & More). Smells and tastes of toffee, vanilla, oak, and molasses. A fantastic rum which deserves a great score.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ramon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings

This rum taste like rum which I really like. Some rum taste more like the bourbon barrels they age them in. I like the smooth rum flavour with an edgy finish.

Posted over 5 years ago by Markus Lehto 🇫🇮 | 44 ratings

There's some sweetness there, but it's topped with quite edgy alcoholic taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by CharlyG 🇱🇺 | 9 ratings

Definitely worse than the Reserva Exclusiva.. boring and flat taste.. not worth the price, even though it is not an expensive bottle

Posted 4 years ago by xCorporalx 🇩🇪 | 98 ratings

...this was a gift to me long time ago.
I was not to excited about, probadly due to the fact my heart belonged to the A.H. Riise run in my shelf...

All I really remember was the very alcoholic taste to it...

Posted almost 6 years ago by wlr75 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings

Since Exclusiva is my favorite sipping rum, I decided to purchase its younger sibling @$25. Figuring if it's even close to the older, it's money well spent. Diplomatico did not disappoint! The nose is similar of molasses, toffee and caramel. The difference is in the palate of these two rums. This one hasn't aged as much and has a tad bit more heat / burn where as the older does not. This is easily opened up with the addition of a single cube of ice. Magically, it unfolds into a truly wonderful experience eith no burn. My bro-in law who is not a rum drinker, sat down with me over the 4th and had 3-4 fingers and a cube of ice each. He was amazed by this rum and again by the price thinking it was more than what it was. Commented he would have loved to have had a cigar to enjoy with it. We drank better than 3/4's of the bottle. This is a great gateway rum to quality sippers!

Posted over 6 years ago by Rault 🇫🇷 | 6 ratings

Trouvé à un très bon prix (26,90€), l'entrée de gamme dans la famille Diplomatico est bon!
Assurément moins agréable que son grand frère, il saura ravir la plupart d'entre nous!
À boire seul ou en cocktail...

Posted 7 months ago by Juraj 🇸🇰 | 35 ratings

Velmi dobry rum s ktorym sa rad podelim s kamaratmi.




Brand Details

Name: Reserva
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
545
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513