Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10
367 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
38
113
127
64
11

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

367 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 7 years ago by fifonlaideur 🇫🇷 | 25 ratings

Déception à la première dégustation. Je le privilégie pour les cocktails. Osez le sacrilège de l'utiliser en remplacement d'un rhum agricole pour le ti punch.

Posted over 7 years ago by Bill Rogers 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings

If you don't know better it is part of life experience. Beginners only or if your broke. Mixer only

Posted over 9 years ago by AndyD603 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings

I have been a fan of Captain Original Spiced for over 10 years. one of the best balanced spiced rums on the market. However not a sipping rum but well mixed with any carbonated drink I have tried.

Posted over 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate 🇬🇧 | 121 ratings

Vanilla concoction. Appalling for non rum drinkers only

Posted over 8 years ago by shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings

Surprisingly, at least to me, I enjoyed this rum. The added vanilla is not overwhelming and harmonizes nicely with the basic beverage (which is a straight-forward, lightly-aged and therefore lightly-colored mid-body rum) My friends enjoyed this as a mixer with Coke and I found it perfectly satisfying on the rocks...at least in a pinch. Recommended, at its price, for these purposes.

Posted over 5 years ago by Philippe Roy 🇨🇦 | 32 ratings

Probably like every young aldult it is where they start with rum. Its good for family reunion or just with your friend that are not use to other rum. Strong taste of vanilla. I got to afmit i still pour myself a rum a coke from the captain once in a while for old time sake.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Nicholas Miller 🇺🇸 | 75 ratings

Captain Morgan really gave a lot of people their start and most pay nostalgia to it for that reason but as a rum its average at best. Usually priced around 16$ 750ml its price point is beaten by Cruzan Gold and Admiral Nelson's. Those 2 also trump C morgan in taste which is why I cant see this a staple all around rum anymore. Captain Morgan is a light brown rum which means its age isnt that high but who would think it was, after all this rum is production. Its like this, if there was a rum machine that spit out rum bacardi would given it 1 crank and C morgan (diego) gives it 2 cranks. Its a step up but still not that good. In the glass it smells like vanilla and alcohol and that it about it. Drinking it straight gives you a large blast of vanilla, sweetness from honey and a harshness of alcohol and a spiced tinge at the end. Not very complex in flavor so as a sipper you would missing out on a lot of life. In coke it gives you a rum in coke that is something you would expect from production rums. Vanilla extract hit and some sweetness with some alcohol lurking in the back and even then its fairly faint. My real problem with C morgan is for whatever reason after more than 1 rum and coke it starts tasting very bitter to the point were I switch to gin. Captain Morgan's biggest strength is you can find it anywhere, so even at wits end you still have some sort of okay rum at a bar.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings

One of the worst spiced rums there is yet far and away the best known. Belongs on the list of bad to mediocre products that have succeeded by great marketing - Bose speakers, Bud / Bud light, snapple, etc.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mal 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings

So I have been avoiding trying Captain Morgan because of how cheap it is (I know don't judge a book by it's cover) and how basic it is. I mean you can literally get Captain Morgan everywhere and I mean everywhere. Well while sitting at a bar one night I finally just decided to go for the classic Captain and Cola expecting the worst. I honestly expected this to be like Bacardi which is my most hated rum of all. I was very surprised at how decent and enjoyable Captain Morgan is. Now it is a sweeter rum and not at all a sipper. A lot of the flavors do taste artificial and feel added in. The vanilla definitely feels like it was added to it and it's a very artificial tasting vanilla. This rum is kind of the soft drink of rums and it's not bad. It's a guilty pleasure kind of rum and one that you shouldn't feel bad mixing with a cola. All in all it's a decent rum and a very tasty rum. I mean are there better choices out there? definitely. Are there rums worse than the Captain? Yes. Captain is not the worst out there and for the price it's actually a really decent rum.

Posted 6 years ago by Jeff 🇨🇦 | 6 ratings

I always keep a bottle of this in stock. I only drink my spirits either neat or with a bit of ice. This one gets a bit more ice than usual because the flavour improves once it is chilled. The aroma is nothing to write home about, much like smelling the cap of a vanilla bottle. However, the flavour and sting left on the tongue is something I enjoy.

Posted over 6 years ago by Monty 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

Well only till 2 years or so ago, did I think nothing could compare to this bottle of intoxicating beauty. More on that later, Captain and me go way back, 27 years to be a bit more precise. I was 15 years of age, in Key West Fla when a friend and I skipped gym class and headed to his fathers bar. Where I was introduced to Captain Morgan, since then it is has been hands down my favorite, mixed with a nice ice tea or a fruity beverage you will be experincing drinking at its best! Now returning to my statement made early on in this commerence to my favorite drink, I have stumbled onto another very string contender, Ron Solera Bacardi from Mexico, I am weary to say, it is a struggle for me now sometimes to forgo my many life adventures with Captain Morgan with Ron Solera Bacardi from Mexico, not as trusted but still a blast to spend an evening or two with. in closing , I have said if you could put Christmas in a bottel, it would taste like Captain Morgan, with all due respect. from a 1% broke, to the other side with lots of options as to what , where and when. Currently residing in Hendersonville NC




Brand Details

Name: Reserva
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514