Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10
367 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
38
113
127
65
10

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

367 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

znowx 🇫🇷 | 22 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

basic to chill with a bunch of dudes

LDNShindiggery 🇬🇧 | 71 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

I used to sell this a while back in an old bar i worked in and remember trying it around the time i was really falling in love with rum (Dont get me wrong ive always loved rum, but theres a time when your growing up and its no longer 'ooh i like rum, ill ave a rum n coke' and it becomes 'seriously i friggin LOVE rum let me see your selection, line up those 6 i need to try them all!!') as i was saying, it was a small place and this was probably the best rum in there! Opens with almost a fruit brulee integrating the caramel, citrus, light spice and dried fruits but lasts on the palate leaving you with a creamy, chocolatety sweetness that goes on so long and so smooth. We like!

jsanca 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

From Venezuela, this very value price rum demonstrates some very sweet notes on nose. You can smell some fruitiness, vanilla, toffee and again sugar cane sweet such as honey.

On the glass you can see a mahogany colour, kinda density and decent legs. The taste is kinda smooth, delicious and sweet of course.

Such as the Diplomatico Reserva exclusiva, but with less woody.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a great rum. I love Diplomatico!

Not quite as sweet or smooth as the Diplomatico Exclusiva, but still great - especially for the incredibly low price of only $19.99 (Total Wines & More). Smells and tastes of toffee, vanilla, oak, and molasses. A fantastic rum which deserves a great score.

Ramon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This rum taste like rum which I really like. Some rum taste more like the bourbon barrels they age them in. I like the smooth rum flavour with an edgy finish.

Markus Lehto 🇫🇮 | 44 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

There's some sweetness there, but it's topped with quite edgy alcoholic taste.

CharlyG 🇱🇺 | 9 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Definitely worse than the Reserva Exclusiva.. boring and flat taste.. not worth the price, even though it is not an expensive bottle

xCorporalx 🇩🇪 | 98 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

...this was a gift to me long time ago.
I was not to excited about, probadly due to the fact my heart belonged to the A.H. Riise run in my shelf...

All I really remember was the very alcoholic taste to it...

wlr75 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Since Exclusiva is my favorite sipping rum, I decided to purchase its younger sibling @$25. Figuring if it's even close to the older, it's money well spent. Diplomatico did not disappoint! The nose is similar of molasses, toffee and caramel. The difference is in the palate of these two rums. This one hasn't aged as much and has a tad bit more heat / burn where as the older does not. This is easily opened up with the addition of a single cube of ice. Magically, it unfolds into a truly wonderful experience eith no burn. My bro-in law who is not a rum drinker, sat down with me over the 4th and had 3-4 fingers and a cube of ice each. He was amazed by this rum and again by the price thinking it was more than what it was. Commented he would have loved to have had a cigar to enjoy with it. We drank better than 3/4's of the bottle. This is a great gateway rum to quality sippers!

Rault 🇫🇷 | 6 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Trouvé à un très bon prix (26,90€), l'entrée de gamme dans la famille Diplomatico est bon!
Assurément moins agréable que son grand frère, il saura ravir la plupart d'entre nous!
À boire seul ou en cocktail...

Juraj 🇸🇰 | 35 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Velmi dobry rum s ktorym sa rad podelim s kamaratmi.