Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

7.9/10
2628 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
12
19
26
64
132
417
944
829
182

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

2628 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Ludo Marley 🇳🇱 | 41 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Een overweldigend boeket aan smaken, zo smaakt deze rum. De blend is exclusief gemaakt van ‘pot still’ rums en heeft voor een periode van minimaal 12 jaar gerijpt in kleine, eikenhouten vaten. De kwaliteit van de rum is in de loop der tijd al vele malen erkend, een kleine opsomming van gewonnen prijzen;

Gold Medal: Ministry of Rum Tasting Competition, New Orleans
Gold Medal, Best in Category: International Cane Spirits Festival, Florida
Silver Medal: Monde Selection, Brussels
Silver Medal: Concours Mondiale, Brussels
Silver Medal: San Francisco World Spirits Competition
Gold Medal: The Rum Experience, London
Deze Diplomatico heeft een prachtige koperen kleur met een wat gouden gloed eromheen en is heerlijk rijk van smaak , met zalige hints van karamel, nootmuskaat en walnoot. De textuur is zijdezacht en romig die goed tot z’n recht komt wanneer het puur of ‘on the rocks’ wordt gedronken.

Geschiedenis Diplomatico
Eind de jaren 80’ was Don Juancho Nieto Melendez en zijn brandende passie voor het verkennen van de bronnen en processen zorgde eruit uiteindelijk voor zijn eigen verantwoordelijkheid voor de vele verleidelijke smaken van de traditionele dranken waaronder de rum.

Hij was vooral geïnteresseerd in ambachtelijke productiemethoden die ondanks relatief constant gehouden, waren kunnen opleveren uiteenlopende duidelijk verschillende resultaten .
Hij was gefascineerd door de subtiele complexiteit van de vele omgevingsfactoren die het rum -proces beïnvloeden , zoals het weer en de vochtigheid van de tropen. Een vakman in hart en nieren , Don Juancho was onvermoeibaar en zocht naar manieren om zijn eigen product te verfijnen door bemonstering van een uitputtende reeks van exotische likeuren en rum . In feite zijn zijn indrukwekkende verzameling drank heel beroemd geworden.
Don Juancho bestudeerde aandachtig de productie- methoden die in Jamaica , die op dat tijdstip de wereldstandaard was voor de vervaardiging en de waardering van rum.

Gerald 🇦🇹 | 21 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

The Diplomatico was my first Rum many years ago ,and i love him until today.

Nose: sweet , caramel,vanilla smoke,fruit,nutty
Tase: sweet,caramel ,vanilly, fruity,nutty,smoke,oak

the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva before 2012 was a little bit better .

JIsurfer 🇺🇸 | 17 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

So far, this is my absolute favorite rum. You don't need ice to mellow it out, it has almost no burn, but still full of flavor. I wouldn't dare put this in a cocktail or with coke, it would be a disgrace to do that. It is extremely smooth.

Dustin R. Newton 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I've tried hundreds of rums, and have I've 75 different types in my cellar at home. I have 4 cases of this. It's that fantastic. Rich and creamy, heavy caramel and toffee, without being overwhelmed with hard oak. This is the epitome of rum, the gold standard by which all others are judged. Superb!

RedBlaze6 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Diplomatico RE was my first sipping rum. Couldn't have chosen a better one to start with. Being new to the rum review game, I won't try to use fancy lingo like flavor notes, legs or complexity. I will just say that it smells and tastes like sweet deliciousness with a subtle burn. Drinking it neat is the way to go. Ice and water takes away from that creamy goodness and mixing hides that great flavor. I have graduated to less sweet rums but this will always stay in heavy rotation at my house. At around $35 USD (01/2016), this is a must have.

James Dylan 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Wow, this is like sweet, rum-flavored pancake syrup. Based on the reviews here, I went out and bought a bottle ($40), and was hoping to discover a new favorite sipping rum. It never happened. From the first sip, I was like.."huh?" My background is, I have dietary restrictions and don't drink soda or eat a lot of candy (sugar) or sugary drinks or food, even. So maybe my tolerance for sugar is low, who knows. But this stuff is cloyingly sweet, the aftertaste is similar to that of having eaten hard candy. You can taste this sickly sweet residue in your mouth for long afterwards. Don't get me wrong, it's not "bad" rum, it's sweet and slightly pleasant, but for a rum purist, it's horrible. I can't believe I just blew $40 on this bottle of rum-flavored syrup. It also has a strong scent of vanilla, no doubt added. Like I said, it's not rum, it's a liqueur. It has a nice burn down the throat, but the sticky sweetness is horrible for me, and it makes me want to brush my teeth. Sorry guys, I'm voting against the grain on this one.

Rumtastic 🇬🇧 | 20 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

As tasty as this is, rating is down as it's not a rum - it's a liqueur:

Nose: Big caramel, toffee, butterscotch (you get the idea). Vanilla and dark fruits, maybe some orange skin. Tiny prickle of spice from the oak. The combination is not complex but it is certainly very hedonistic.

Palate: Big caramel, toffee, butterscotch. Vanilla and dark fruits......oh wait. Nose, taste and repeat. Very viscous and mouth-coating, actually quite cloying. Yep, it's a liqueur. Delicious though.

Finish: Actually surprisingly long, didn't expect that. Lashings of vanilla and a bit of oaky bitterness but I get the impression that the finish is just there because my mouth is still coated with the sticky rum and I'm still getting "palate" and not an actual "finish".

More here:

https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/diplomatico-reserva-exclusiva-review/

James 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I'll give a mention to this fellow that nailed the rum review:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/diplomatico-reserva-exclusiva-review/

It's just too sweet for me. Rums by their nature will tend to have a sweeter note, but this is playing to a crowd that wants liquid candy in their mouth.

I'm currently experimenting with drier and spicier rums to mix it with in order to try and bring some semblance of balance.

LarsF 🇸🇪 | 39 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva comes in a nice bottle and the rum is delivered in a nice tube (as in the picture).
The smell is very sweet with lots of caramel, cacao and vanilla.
In mouth this rum is very velvety with a small hint of spice at the end. The taste is full of vanilla, cacao and orange.
The finish is long, mild and sweet with a little bit of spice.
A sipper that also goes well as a blender. This one should be in every collection :)

forrest loftis 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Diplomatic RE is an excellent sipping rum. Sweet enough but not quite as much as Zaya . Buttery caramel flavor with the smoky burnt oak misting through. I can sip a good glass of rum for two hours. Add a twist of lime and try that with this rum. Let me know if after about 30 to 45 minutes you , you don't find the nose has evolved to a different rum. All in a good way. If it were not more expensive than Zaya, it would also be a 10 but I have to say 9.

redwdz 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 9 years ago

A luxurious adventure of rich evolving tastes: molasses, chocolate, toffee, vanilla, orange, at a very reasonable price. Quite smooth and easy on the palate. I surprise devotees of high end bourbon and scotch with this sipping rum. Mmmm...




Brand Details

Name: Reserva Exclusiva
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot Still
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading

Loading