Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10
233 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
13
40
72
99

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

233 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by Mephisto 🇩🇪 | 39 ratings

The nose is mild and hides the full and strong (excellent) taste. The aroma of port appears, sweet raisins and spicy dark wood. Dark chocolate with slightly sour herbs. I always associate this aroma with burnt hairs, sounds weird, but is rather good than bad. Very contrary aromas fitting together here. Strong and full, clear taste of port wine - maybe filled in wet casks? Viscous and creamy with cacao, brown sugar and dark fruits. A bit spicy, some pepper together with vanilla. Interesting finish, herbs, burnt wood and fine bitterness. You should try this one!

Posted 6 years ago by Igor 🇳🇱 | 5 ratings

Not the best rum in the Appleton family... The scent is nice but the taste en finish do not keep up to the promising scent. Therefore good in the mix with coke

Posted over 6 years ago by romy 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings

I bought this bottle because i could not find Saint James rhum after moving from Texas to another state.
Spicy, peppery, burned carbonized onion taste. I wanted to throw the whole bottle away on first taste. I kept the bottle a few months disliking it each time. It has a coarse and chemical taste. I ended throwing the whole bottle in the trash.

Posted over 8 years ago by Arowbal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings

Been to Jamaica 3 times, they always serve Appleton and I usually bring a bottle or 2 home. It is a fine rum and makes me think of the island.

Posted over 1 year ago by djk373 🇬🇧 | 11 ratings

Not smooth if sipped straight, but sweet flavour comes out great when mixed with coke. Enjoyable mid range rum

Posted almost 2 years ago by Supreme 🇨🇦 | 37 ratings

This one is just okay ... out of all the Appleton’s I put this one in the middle

Posted over 4 years ago by Tim 🇨🇦 | 80 ratings

Disclaimer: I love Jamaican rums... you may or may not. This is the middle of the road Appleton mass market offering and it is a middle of the road. Regardless, versatile and worthy in any cocktail calling for Jamaican rum; hell, you’ll blow your friends’ minds. No Smith & Cross tho...

Posted 6 years ago by Edward Martens 🇨🇦 | 30 ratings

A nice amber colour on the darker side. Notes of citrus and carmel. A step up from VX. Great over ice without mix so one can enjoy the complexity of flavour.

Posted over 6 years ago by Nicoakr 🇫🇷 | 106 ratings

Good nose for a mild spicy rum. Not bad in mouth, a bit too peppery for me. Some good notes of honey and cinnamon. Hot smoky ending.

Posted over 6 years ago by inkognito 🇨🇭 | 3 ratings

Very nice in the nose. round nice taste, use it pure or mixed always a pleasure

Posted 7 years ago by Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings

This is what I would consider as the mainstay of Appleton bar rums. Good for mixing, but I would not try this as a sipping rum. I had no regrets using this in mixed drinks. It's a dry rum that blends well with whatever you put in the glass.




Brand Details

Name: Ambassador Selection
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514