Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10
233 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
13
40
72
99

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

233 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 8 years ago by Zeck 🇫🇷 | 61 ratings

Ne vaut pas le prix annoncé.
La différence d'appréciation entre celui-ci et le D. Reserva Exclusiva ou le D. Single Vintage 200 ne vaut pas la différence de prix !

Posted 6 years ago by James 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings

This rum embodies the essence of discernment between what is referred to in harsh terms as "heat", and what is affectionately referred to as "warmth" when talking about alcohol taste.

2001 Barbados warms the palate and throat in the best way I’ve ever experienced. It's smooth, with a dominant butterscotch note on the smell and taste, and the finish is warm and soothing. Everything else takes a back note to mostly butterscotch and vanilla notes, however, the dominant flavours don't overwhelm the palate. For extra credit, even if you've had a bit too much of it and gotten a bit tipsy, the flavour is still right there with you until the very end.

Bravo Plantation! The 2001 Barbados is top notch to me!

Posted over 6 years ago by Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings

I am rapidly becoming a fan of the Plantation brand. This is the second type of Plantation rum I've purchased and it is just awesomeness in a bottle. I think I will have to pursue more of their other rums to see if those are as good. I ranked the first Plantation brand rum (Plantation XO 20th Anniversary) as a 9 as well but I look at is as a 9.95 for the XO to a 9.75 for the 2001 Barbados. Incredibly smooth, somewhat sweet with a nice vanilla undertone. Not really a burn but an enveloping warmth coating the back of the throat. A true sipping rum. I don't think I will be using this in mixed drinks or Coke Zero. If you run across a bottle of this, buy it immediately. But save for special occasions.

Posted 5 years ago by Duckstab 🇨🇿 | 76 ratings

Na XO 20 to samozřejmě nemá ani z dálky, ale za své peníze (700-800 Kč) dostanete, co jste chtěli, a je to určitě lepší než mnohé jiné rumy z Barbadosu v této cenové kategorii, zejména pokud nemáte rádi příliš sladké.
Opakovat to ale nemíním (a nejspíš ani zkoušet jiné ročníky).

Posted 5 years ago by Joey 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings

In my opinion yes. Probably my favorite rum that I have had so far. Very similar to the XO in terms of flavor (lots of sweetness but never cloying) with an added touch of funk/grass. Full bodied. Outstanding.

Posted 5 months ago by Wolfe Tone 🇳🇱 | 88 ratings

Nice warmth, with wood shavings, spices, honey and sweet fruits.

Posted 6 months ago by Rhoffer97 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings

Great nose, very smooth, wonderful taste with a lingering tingle.....typical Plantation wonderdul rum

Posted 9 months ago by olivier vm 🇧🇪 | 10 ratings

A bit less smooth than the Plantation XO which i rated 10. Still very pleasant rum

Posted 11 months ago by Thorsten Bouillon 🇩🇪 | 13 ratings

Best vintage bottling of plantation Barbados so far. Highly recommend.

Posted over 2 years ago by mswoodruff 🇸🇬 | 16 ratings

Great aroma and smooooth. Certainly not a bad tipple

Posted over 2 years ago by Daan 🇳🇱 | 56 ratings

Given to me by David. Was a good rum. Never could find it anywhere. Just rememer it was a good one




Brand Details

Name: Ambassador Selection
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514