Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10
236 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
13
40
75
99

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

236 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Angel 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

One of the best rum, sweet aroma, a bit pricey only for special occasions

Locodelcocoromano78 🇫🇷 | 2 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I had to buy a bottle for my evenings after long hours at work with kids. I thought about a nice rum to remind me the time I was living in the Caribbean. I was delighted with the box and the elegant bottle. The nose is quite strong at first and attacked me a bit certainly cause of the 47percents of alcohol. Itis spicy with a strong vanilla smell. At the first try you can feel a very nice creamy effect with notes of caramel, dry fruits like with a cake. Also some vanilla. Then I felt some nice coffee and dark chocolate notes. Finally if you stop drinking for a bit and leave the flavors developping in your mouth, you really have a nice and warm feeling. You definitely want to have some more. It is complex, sweet and strong at the same time. Nice piece of work for sure.

Juanlaginia 🇺🇸 | 77 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

A truly master piece, very rich and bold, its dark color tells you how much flavor is in it, hazelnuts and chocolate hints without being too fruity.

Immiketoo 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This rum is powerful. Strong, full aroma yet smooth on the palate. It’s the most expensive rum I’ve tried so far but it is excellent. It’s far superior to the other rums in my profile.

Lightly sweet, with notes of oak, vanilla and smoke.

Outstanding.

Edit: 9/14/20

Still an excellent rum, but as usual, more experience has shown me that while it’s expensive, that doesn’t mean it’s a 10. I’m downgrading to an 8.5 because while very good, it lacks some depth that I believe is due to additives that may cover some inherent flaws.

Would I buy it again? Yes, but not until I’ve added Appleton Estate Joy and 30 year to my collection.

Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 537 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

- vůně, žena cítí vanilkovou zmrzlinu politou Salkem, já kombinace sladkostí, čokoláda, sherry, dřevo a kouř
- chuť sladká, 47% dává o sobě vědět, vypálené dřevo, dojezd dlouhý, jemně nahořklý, rozinky zůstávají v ústech hodně dlouho, skvělý!

Don 🇨🇦 | 161 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

My wife bought this rum from Manitoba for our 30th anniversary but New Year's Eve is the time for this $411 bottle. The presentation is top notch and the colour of the rum begs you to open it. The first nose is quite strong but opens up after 15 mins in the glass. Dark chocolate, caramel and vanilla are strong and balanced with a long perfect finish. I will still vote for the 2000 S.V. for my favourite, for almost a third the price.

Koubič 🇨🇿 | 5 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Neskutečný zážitek ochutnat tento rum. Jen cena je už dle mě hodně vysoká. Při této ceně pořídím 2 možná 3 lahve stejného chuťového zážitku. Každopádně jeden z nej co jsem kdy zkusil

Dimitris 🇬🇷 | 84 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is really good with touch of bourbon, cherry & cognac aging. Also compare to Single Vintages it has anise giving a buttery feeling, sophisticated & it is also more intense-aggressive with higher alcohol but same time less bold. In the background notice sherry, exotic fruits, touch bitter & little sweetness with long aftertaste (very close to 9). Overall extreamly overpriced.. i think Single Vintages 2002 and 2004 are close at half price with some different darker taste and tiny less smooth & intresting.

Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Again based on sample I acquired but the experience of this “expression” is all to nice nicy. The aromas are quit light as initially couldn’t make much out of it which is surprising as this is coming at 47% abv. Mostly getting burned sugar, some butterscotch and a hint of varnish. No alcohol fumes whatsoever. Taste is sweet and can’t pick up any real rum notes apart from some sherry notes coming from the Px casks. Finish is long and sweet but again pretty one dimensional.

The single vintage range, even though that has added sugar, is much more interesting which is less than half the price of this.

Most of what you pay for a full size bottle must be in the gorgeous presentation as the contents certainly doesn’t reflect this.

For the lovers of “smooth” sweet “rum” that got too much money to burn.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 332 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Could even say extremely nice aroma of mostly fruit. The taste is well balanced with mostly dried fruit and vanilla. It’s not so sweet as the well known Reserva Exclusiva, which is good.
As a summary I don’t think it’s living up to the quite high price but it’s still a must have on my Spanish shelf.
Picture: My Venezuela shelf.

Jay G 🇨🇦 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Got this one for my father. Needless to say, he liked it like none other.
Keep it for special occasion tho, the price point is a bit on the very high side.

All I can say about the flavor is that it won't dissapoint. It's in the top 10 for a reason.