Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10
236 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
13
40
75
99

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

236 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Angel 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

One of the best rum, sweet aroma, a bit pricey only for special occasions

Andrew 🇨🇦 | 76 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I love the presentation; the box, the bottle, even the heavy cork head.
I smell figs, raisins, prunes and hints of tobacco.
The entry is a bit acrid and reminds me a bit of a dry wine.
Not horrible but i like a sweeter rum.
The finish stays very dry; I'm wondering if a small ice cube wood help it out.
All in all not bad, but with a hefty price tag I would just stick with the Reserva Exclusiva; unless your a rum collector or aficionados.
I hope to try the vintage series one day.

Martin Grönvall 🇩🇰 | 115 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

A really great rum. You can taste it is in the same family as Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. But most better.

Stephane 🇫🇷 | 53 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Toujours dans son écrin de bois et de satin, mais promis je le débouche bientôt ;-)

Enfin dégusté, en présence de José Ballesteros himself ! et bien il mérite la note maximum. Moins réduit que le reste de la gamme, il est puissant, épicé, malgré tout il garde la signature Diplomatico avec la vanille et le caramel très présent. On reste sur le sucré et les Français amateurs d'agricole resteront sur leur faim.... Seulement 5000 bouteilles produites par an. Sa qualité (et son packaging) font de lui un vrai premium.

Jesper Sørensen 🇩🇰 | 11 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

meget fyldig, knap så sød som forventet. Super lang og kompleks eftersmag. Mærker ikke de 47 % som sprit, mere som dybde og intensitet i smagen. Super oplevelse.

Grand Master Jay 🇬🇧 | 80 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Not great at this price. Nice packaging and great bottle but I'd rather save my money and by the vintage 2000 or Reserva.
This is a dry rum with sherry hints, it is smooth but one dimensional. Add an ice cube and it mellows.
I prefer sweeter rums, ill buy two of the vintages at this price and the Star Anise taste becomes annoying when you pay this kind of money.

taz.c 🇫🇷 | 85 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Très cher, trop peut être...
j'ai mis du temps a l'avoir, mais je le voulais, et il vaut le coup.
fruits secs, épices et vanille avec une pointe de fumé par dessus.
Très complexe, la finale est longue et chaleureuse, c'est une invitation pour réitérer l'expérience...
je l'adore et vais le boire lentement... pour l'amortir...

Stephan 🇨🇦 | 17 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I had high expectations considering the reviews and hefty price of that rum. Indeed it is a great rum but it did not 'wow' me enough to get a 10. I tasted it after the Vizcaya and thought the latter was smoother but Diplomatico Ambassador has a more complex taste. I guess I need to give it a second try.

Gareth 🇨🇼 | 93 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

this is a absolutely amazing rum its like miracle in a bottle but the for the price-tag i would find others

laurent 🇫🇷 | 14 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

il a tout d'un grand: aspect, odeur, goût et longueur frôle la perfection

karl 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

the peak of all the rums I tasted it's for special occasion paid over $280 so you can expect something special and it is, if you can afford it try it.