Dictador XO Perpetual rum

Dictador XO Perpetual

Colombia | Aged

Perpetuating family traditions. A dry, very deeply elegant rum. The favourite rum of Hernan Parra, Dictador Master Blender. Aged in premium quality, ex-bourbon and ex-sherry. Aging time 25-35 years.

8.3/10
99 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
12
28
42
10

Rate Dictador XO Perpetual

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

99 Dictador XO Perpetual ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Edwg1967 🇨🇦 | 12 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This rum is so nice to sit back and enjoy. So smooth and full of flavour. A definite must have

kodex 🇵🇱 | 7 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Top kind of rum for me - sweet but not too sweet - intense taste but not too intense, alcohol hidden - but warming from first sip.
A great Rum to pair with cigar

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Smell: Cocoa in combination with coconut is the characteristic smell of a perpetual. The smell is warm with vanilla, almost oily, I would say. There is little or no wood with intense spices such as cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom. A very nice smell. Not very complex but very lovely.
A woman doesn't need much to charm and yet you can't resist.

Taste: It starts thin with caramel and cocoa. Nutmeg and cardamom follow subtle. Some tannins appear with a slight bitterness, the sharpness increases slowly. When it gets warmer, the coconut comes out very slightly and the rum looks slightly viscous, almost a little oily. That was much more pronounced with the Solera version and I particularly liked that. In the new version, however, there are only fractions left.
The finish is spicy, with tannins, wood, cocoa and spices.

Aftertaste: cocoa, light tannins, nutmeg

The smell is quite convincing and the dilution is hardly noticeable. However, the disillusionment comes on the palate and here he has some weaknesses compared to the old Solera bottling. Significantly less coconut and viscosity make it appear more watery. As a result, cocoa is much more dominant. It's like you first drank milk-based hot cocoa and now you have to drink it with hot water.

Overall rating: 81 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 1/5
Seasoning: 3/5
PL (67 €): 2.5 / 5

Age: blend of 21 to 32 old barrels
Casks: Bourbon, port wine and sherry
Country: Cartagena de Indias (Columbia)
Material: sugar cane honey

Arik 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Great. Not good but great. Another true sipping rum. Review: When the bottle is opened a hypnotic aroma, with intricate roasted honey, Colombian coffee, royal toffee, dark chocolate, mature oak and parfait roundness. The mouth feel is extremely smooth, with fudge and flavors of toffee. The finish is long, complex with light oak flavor.

Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 66 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Both shine in their genre. Insolent a touch of maple, Perpetual drier with dried fruit/vanilla. If you go back and forth you can decide which way you lean. My senses are still fighting over sweet vs dry ratio in my tastings. I seem to enjoy and appreciate both, so I will continue to own both.

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Absolutelly a good choice. A very different rum, it's a masterpiece.

KINK1IN 🇫🇷 | 15 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Dictador XO Perpetual

Notation Personnel : 8/10 .

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Insolent.
Aroma: Ve vůni se nám vrací ke kávě a oproti Insolentu nám mizí lékořice. Koňakové tóny, hřebíček, hutná kůže, čokoláda. Přijde mi podobný D 20. V druhé vlně se vynoří hřejivost koření, hutnost je ještě o kousek dál a je tu i větrovost.(89 b)
Chuť: V chuti mi přijde o kousek zajímavější, než D 20 i Insolent. Je o něco plnější, kořenitější. Hřebíček, rumové pralinky. Bez sladkosti, jinak klasicky pro tuto značku koňak a čokoláda.(87 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Značka se drží svého stylu, jede si to své a dělají to dobře.

Razvan 🇩🇰 | 30 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

The rum is excellent. it has a strong smell that continues into the body of Vina walnut. Perpetual is very smooth, with a silky finish that lasts and gives away aromas of vanilla and nut. My wife says she can feel also coffee and dark chocolate hints.

Chris 🇧🇪 | 100 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

First impression is that you have buy a high quality rum. Provided with a very beaytiful packaging, you are not dissappointed when you open the bottle. Once served in your glass, you can admire the dark brown color of this devine liquid. In the mouth,you will find a taste of coffee with a little bit of toffee. The aftertaste is quite long. This rum is well balanced. Really a good one. The next one to taste will be his little Insolent brother ... Yummy !!!

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 524 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I really like the taste and smell of this rum!

Honey, coffee, toffee, oak, and even some bourbon.

But the aftertaste is harsh, just like it is with the Dictador 20 year, and this takes away from the overall goodness. I'm not sure if I'm the only one that feels the harsh aftertaste (I'm not reading about it in other people's reviews), but to me this makes it a less than exceptional rum. I prefer the Dictador XO Insolent to this, as it is sweeter and more rum like.