Dictador XO Insolent rum

Dictador XO Insolent

Colombia | Aged

Our bold move! Your perfect finish for a meal. Extra old. Blended rum between 25-35 years old. Aged in American Oak ex-bourbon and port casks which have been re-changed in some stages of the aging process.

8.4/10
154 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
1
7
7
40
66
29

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

154 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cultov 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This us a really good rum. Nose and Taste is full of honey and caramel. Taste is sweet and strong at the same time.
Are there nuts?

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I had this rum as well as the Dictador Perpetual on my wish list ever since I got a bottle of their 20-year rum at Dorignac's in New Orleans. I found this bottle (and a Perpetual) at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL. I am so glad I got it.

Let's get started...

First off, the color of the rum is a gorgeous mahogany..deep and rich.

Excellent legs and a most wonderful aroma in my snifter.

Then the flavor...

Out-freakin'-standing!!!

Honesty, no rum in my history of sampling tastes quite like this. I've seen the testing results and this is not a sugared rum but on the outset there is a wonderful subtle sweetness along with the closest-to-perfect vanilla/toffee flavor I have ever tasted. Further sippings give me a little cinnamon/sugar buttery toast flavor. This comes as close to a 10 as I will consider.

Burn? Not even a major warmth. This rum envelopes you in a cozy blanket in the throat. No burn. The finish is a tad dry with the vanilla/toffee flavor even more predominate but not overwhelming.

Whomever is the rum-master behind this specific rum deserves major kudos. I would love to shake his or her hand. AWESOME!!!

Mixing rum? Perish the thought!!!

This is a sipping rum through and through. Nothing else.

Next time I'm in Jacksonville, I am getting at least one more bottle to have on-hand.

If you come across a bottle of this, get it. It's worth every penny of the $100 USD. This is one of the best rums I have ever tasted.

I think I have found my new favorite rum.

Okay...for those of you asking why I didn't give it a 10, let me explain once again...

Personally speaking I cannot give any rum a 10 because I do not believe a perfect rum exists. The late great Vince Lombardi once said, "Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Starting by Insolent : Beautiful and deep dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel are present. Also agree with butterscotch aroma. Sweet and long finish. A very good one and should be on your collection.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 499 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Wenn Du das Glas zur Nase führst, sagen Deine Sinne: Ich will mehr !
Einfach nur fantastisch ! Nicht für Jedermann ! Sehr dominant ! Ein Diktator !
In der Nase Holztöne, Ledernoten, dunkle Schokolade, wie beim 12 Y oder 20 Y, nur intensiver und viel harmonischer.
Wunderschönes dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
Im Gaumen wird es sehr komplex, schwarzer Kaffee mit Gewürzen, Toffee, gebranntes Karamell, auch die Holznoten spielen in diesem Orchester der Geschmäcker mit.
Der Abgang will nie enden, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, sehr schwer.
Ein sehr spezieller Ron der Zeit und Raum braucht und sich auch nimmt um seine Geschichte zu erzählen.
Super an kalten Wintertagen, im Sommer zu deftig.
G+R F LU17

If you bring the glass to the nose, say your senses: I want more!
Just fantastic! Not for everyone! Very dominant! A dictator!
In the nose wood tones, leather notes, dark chocolate, like the 12 Y or 20 Y, only more intense and much more harmonious.
Wonderful dark mahogany in the glass.
In the palate it becomes very complex, black coffee with spices, toffee, burnt caramel, also the wood notes play in this orchestra of tastes.
The finish will never end, dark chocolate, dark wood, very heavy.
A very special Ron who needs time and space to tell his story.
Great on cold winter days, in the summer too hearty.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 515 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I had this side by side with the Dictador Perpetual, and to me, this was much better. This has a sweeter, more rum-like flavor to it.

Honey, toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a hint of anise. Beautiful smell! This is definitely my favorite of the Dictadors!

Michael N 🇺🇸 | 72 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

After trying a bottle of 20 year solera from Dictador I thought I would give this a go. Unlike the 20 year old, this one has a subtle aroma. It is sweet but the flavor and smoothness is absolutely incredible. A must try.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Perpetual.
Aroma: Lékořice! Opět hřejivý dojem, jako u Dictador 20, ale tady se nám přidává pendreková sladkost, náznak koňaku je tu stejně jako u Dictador 12. Nějaká ta čokoláda, cappucino. (90 b)
Chuť: V chuti už sladkost nezaznamenávám, nebo jen opravdu nepatrnou a Dictador se tak drží svého suchého stylu. Velmi jemný, delikátní na jazyku, ale D 20 byl olejnatější. Řekl bych, že chuťově je i podobný dvacetileté verzi. Lékořice je i v chuti, ale v menší míře. (86 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Hodně zajímavý rum, jen škoda, že ( z mého pohledu) chuť nedosahuje kvality vůně. Příznivci stylu Dictador si i tak přijdou na své.

Andzin (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 59 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

I can't compare this to any of the extra Best or Masters editions with 10x and more cost. But if you consider normal price range up to $100, this is to me the best choice from their family and very close to be perfect at all. I did test side by side with Perpetual and found Insolent better. Of course this is about personal preference. Aroma, color, taste, tale... all well balanced and smooth without being boring. You find all in review from Beukeboom, I have nothing more to add. Despite after first glass I decided to get whole bottle straight away for my cabinet. Try this one.

Max 🇫🇷 | 5 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

XO Insolent- creme brûlée in a glass! Amazing for desert

Scottytat2 🇷🇴 | 8 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I just like solera rums, and this one is one of the bests . I realy love the smell of it , but also the taste is really well balanced . . .

Montal 🇷🇴 | 20 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is the best Dictador i ever tried, the coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel are present.Unlike the 20 year old, this one has a subtle aroma. It is sweet but the flavor and smoothness is absolutely incredible,the aftertaste lingers warmly and pleasantly. A must try and have in your collection.