loading

Background Image
Preload image
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Dictador XO Insolent

Colombia | Aged | 40% ABV

Our bold move! Your perfect finish for a meal. Extra old. Blended rum between 25-35 years old. Aged in American Oak ex-bourbon and port casks which have been re-changed in some stages of the aging process.

8.4/10
171 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
9
7
45
72
32

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

171 Dictador XO Insolent Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I had this rum as well as the Dictador Perpetual on my wish list ever since I got a bottle of their 20-year rum at Dorignac's in New Orleans. I found this bottle (and a Perpetual) at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL. I am so glad I got it.

Let's get started...

First off, the color of the rum is a gorgeous mahogany..deep and rich.

Excellent legs and a most wonderful aroma in my snifter.

Then the flavor...

Out-freakin'-standing!!!

Honesty, no rum in my history of sampling tastes quite like this. I've seen the testing results and this is not a sugared rum but on the outset there is a wonderful subtle sweetness along with the closest-to-perfect vanilla/toffee flavor I have ever tasted. Further sippings give me a little cinnamon/sugar buttery toast flavor. This comes as close to a 10 as I will consider.

Burn? Not even a major warmth. This rum envelopes you in a cozy blanket in the throat. No burn. The finish is a tad dry with the vanilla/toffee flavor even more predominate but not overwhelming.

Whomever is the rum-master behind this specific rum deserves major kudos. I would love to shake his or her hand. AWESOME!!!

Mixing rum? Perish the thought!!!

This is a sipping rum through and through. Nothing else.

Next time I'm in Jacksonville, I am getting at least one more bottle to have on-hand.

If you come across a bottle of this, get it. It's worth every penny of the $100 USD. This is one of the best rums I have ever tasted.

I think I have found my new favorite rum.

Okay...for those of you asking why I didn't give it a 10, let me explain once again...

Personally speaking I cannot give any rum a 10 because I do not believe a perfect rum exists. The late great Vince Lombardi once said, "Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Starting by Insolent : Beautiful and deep dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel are present. Also agree with butterscotch aroma. Sweet and long finish. A very good one and should be on your collection.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 546 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Wenn Du das Glas zur Nase führst, sagen Deine Sinne: Ich will mehr !
Einfach nur fantastisch ! Nicht für Jedermann ! Sehr dominant ! Ein Diktator !
In der Nase Holztöne, Ledernoten, dunkle Schokolade, wie beim 12 Y oder 20 Y, nur intensiver und viel harmonischer.
Wunderschönes dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
Im Gaumen wird es sehr komplex, schwarzer Kaffee mit Gewürzen, Toffee, gebranntes Karamell, auch die Holznoten spielen in diesem Orchester der Geschmäcker mit.
Der Abgang will nie enden, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, sehr schwer.
Ein sehr spezieller Ron der Zeit und Raum braucht und sich auch nimmt um seine Geschichte zu erzählen.
Super an kalten Wintertagen, im Sommer zu deftig.
G+R F LU17

If you bring the glass to the nose, say your senses: I want more!
Just fantastic! Not for everyone! Very dominant! A dictator!
In the nose wood tones, leather notes, dark chocolate, like the 12 Y or 20 Y, only more intense and much more harmonious.
Wonderful dark mahogany in the glass.
In the palate it becomes very complex, black coffee with spices, toffee, burnt caramel, also the wood notes play in this orchestra of tastes.
The finish will never end, dark chocolate, dark wood, very heavy.
A very special Ron who needs time and space to tell his story.
Great on cold winter days, in the summer too hearty.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 563 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I had this side by side with the Dictador Perpetual, and to me, this was much better. This has a sweeter, more rum-like flavor to it.

Honey, toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a hint of anise. Beautiful smell! This is definitely my favorite of the Dictadors!

Michael N 🇺🇸 | 72 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

After trying a bottle of 20 year solera from Dictador I thought I would give this a go. Unlike the 20 year old, this one has a subtle aroma. It is sweet but the flavor and smoothness is absolutely incredible. A must try.

LUKAŽIGA 🇸🇮 | 51 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

The nose of this rum first grabs you with the thickness of a humid woody note. Then the familiar markers of the Dictador brand follow: coffee first, then nuts and caramel that form a lovely gourmet praline. A few touches of rancio, that is to say, of oxidation and nuts in the manner of a yellow wine, come and go for a much more unusual profile. Molasses and toasted wood then offer a picture of toasted bread or brioche and maple syrup. This nose is overall very dark and roasted.
The opening will allow all the aromas to bind together, one continues to think of a maple syrup, but with an extra opulence. These aromas are rather dry, but we can guess a certain roundness, characterised by caramel. One imagines that the rum would go well with a dessert coffee.

On the palate, the coffee is both dark and sweet, almost tart. The caramel notes spread out on the tongue while the roasted side brings contrast and a certain astringency. The caramel is salty and gives off strong, woody, toasty flavours. The contact with the palate is soft and sweet despite these dark brown notes.

On the finish, the whole continues to melt and take the form of a thick maple syrup that flows gently.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 378 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Perpetual.
Aroma: Lékořice! Opět hřejivý dojem, jako u Dictador 20, ale tady se nám přidává pendreková sladkost, náznak koňaku je tu stejně jako u Dictador 12. Nějaká ta čokoláda, cappucino. (90 b)
Chuť: V chuti už sladkost nezaznamenávám, nebo jen opravdu nepatrnou a Dictador se tak drží svého suchého stylu. Velmi jemný, delikátní na jazyku, ale D 20 byl olejnatější. Řekl bych, že chuťově je i podobný dvacetileté verzi. Lékořice je i v chuti, ale v menší míře. (86 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Hodně zajímavý rum, jen škoda, že ( z mého pohledu) chuť nedosahuje kvality vůně. Příznivci stylu Dictador si i tak přijdou na své.

Andzin 🇨🇿 | 82 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I can't compare this to any of the extra Best or Masters editions with 10x and more cost. But if you consider normal price range up to $100, this is to me the good choice. I did test side by side with Perpetual and found Insolent better. Of course this is about personal preference. Aroma, color, taste, tale... all well balanced and smooth without being boring. You find all in review from Beukeboom, I have nothing more to add. What I regret is lack of transparency.

Max 🇫🇷 | 4 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

XO Insolent- creme brûlée in a glass! Amazing for desert

Scottytat2 (BASIC) 🇷🇴 | 9 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I just like solera rums, and this one is one of the bests . I realy love the smell of it , but also the taste is really well balanced . . .




Brand Details

Company: Dictador
Type: Aged
Raw Material: Unknown
Brand Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation Type: Unknown
Name: XO Insolent
ABV: 40%

Loading

Loading

Loading