Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Lemon Hart 151 rum

Lemon Hart 151

Guyana | Dark

7.9/10
90 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
1
0
3
3
17
47
14
5

Rate Lemon Hart 151

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

90 Lemon Hart 151 Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

LegallySmelf 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Intense burnt sugar flavors are packed in to this rum. I would sip it on its own to get that mouth filling creme brûlée taste. This is easily my favorite overproof rum. If you can get it, buy it immediately.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 321 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Lemon Hart 151 yellow label (current) - 75.5% ABV. Review forthcoming. 7+

Lemon Hart 151 red label (previous) - 75.5% ABV. N: Deep caramel and Demerara sugar. Tickles nose, but doesn't smell like alcohol. P: Huge. Explodes with molasses and oak. Semisweet chocolate chips. Rich chocolate chip cookie dough. With water: spice; anise? Pineapple!? Finish: medium-short. 8-

Ah, the venerable Lemon Hart 151. Unmistakable in cocktails. And strangely, while I don't get a chance to use it often, it is one of the few things that I've actually experienced cravings for as a long afternoon at the office draws on. "Oooh, you know what sounds good right now—something with that rich, deep, demerara profile you can only get from a certain kind of rum..." Cobra's Fang, 151 Swizzle, Jet Pilot, Trader Vic's Myrtle Bank Punch, Don the Beachcomber's Zombie... any Guyana 151 will work beautifully these. My favorite is probably Hamilton's, followed closely by the red label (which he had a hand in). The current yellow label is fine, but my least favorite of the bunch. How fortunate are we, now, to have more than one option to choose from, compared to just a few years ago when you would be hard-pressed to find any?

jcapable 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Whoowee. This stuff will really knock your socks off! The only rum to use when 151 is called for. So much flavor packed in to every punch.

Wayne Upton 🇺🇸 | 136 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Wow. I really wasn't expecting the new LH 151 to be as flavorful as it is. I really enjoy it, and in a shoot-out with the classic LH 151, it's smoother, less harsh, and while it has a bit less of the demerara note, it has a really consistent flavor that lasts. Tremendous.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

LH 151 was a legend in the world of Tiki and exotic cocktails for decades, an indispensable ingredient for classic drinks such as Zombies and Jet Pilots. A couple of years ago the amazing Ed Hamilton (Ministry of Rum) bottled and distributed his own 151-proof rum from Guyana, (also the home of the original LH 151). The new LH 151 is very good to be sure, but Hamilton 151 is smokier and oakier. It's a fuller-bodied option which makes it, in my opinion, a more interesting rum and a richer, more versatile ingredient. You won't go wrong making your Jet Pilots with either rum. But if you have the chance to buy and compare both of these fine products you'll no doubt appreciate the difference.

DocRoe 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Picked up @TheAustinShaker - sipping at full strength the 75.5% ETOH is a bit overwhelming but the caramel, dry fruit and dark molasses are all there and fantastic.

Paul Hübscher 🇨🇭 | 69 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

We are tough, I told myself and decided to try this on straight up. In the nose it did not betray the overproof, it has a faint smell of toffee. In the mouth, there is first - nothing. Then the heat sets in - in a very pleasant way, though. Once the heat ist gone, you have again toffee, a bit of some wood, even some fruit (apple?).

I still have to try it in mixed drinks - but maybe I'll stick to my custom of drinking my rum straight up even with this overproof. It can be done!

DMJaguar 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

At 151 it isn't really a straight shot drink. Although it is quite tasty over ice. My personal preference though is a dark and stormy. One part to three parts of a very strong ginger beer and it is amazing.

revsteph (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 409 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

One might ask, why would you start a four-tasting afternoon with an overproof? And of course the answer might be, WHY NOT?
This self-sanitizing rum was tasted 10/17/21 at Laka Lono in the form of a SotoDax because I knew better than to blow my palate with the first rum. My notes indicate that in addition to the previously noted "self-sanitizing," I felt it had interesting earthy flavors.

HotSpicyDisco 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

My go-to Demerara rum for my Three Dots and a Dash. The wonderful rich molasses flavors really cut through and make the ...- shine.

Tim bascombe 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Lemon heart 151 It’s great for floaters. But it’s also I have has lots of dark rum flavor is




Brand Details

Type: Dark
Company: Lemon Hart
Country: Guyana
Name: 151
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Articles

1. RumRatings
2. Total Wine
Loading...