Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.0/10
133 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
5
20
60
26
11
4

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

133 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

Good sipper. Nothing really stands out but a good rum to have on the shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Tim from United States with 7 ratings

I am an avid bourbon and rye drinker. I was recently on a cruise and decided to try one of their premium rums.
I happened on Cruzan and was surprised. It was sweeter then bourbon for sure, it was not subtle in many flavor areas. The nose was confusing, just so much going on, but the caramel, cherry, vanilla and molasses were evident.
The taste followed the nose and I enjoyed the punch of the caramel, almost tasted like an old fashioned.
The finish was sweet, almost like Dr. Pepper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Antonio from Puerto Rico with 1 rating

First timer with Cruzan Single Barrel Premium Extra Aged. Great deal at $11&change + tax@supermax in condado in a new upscale section dedicated to booze. Tried it neat & then wit & bit of lime. Smooth, good bodied, not overwhelming in any way. I recommend it favorably, great choice. Will repeat &substitute for one I have as regular. The aging is notable, pretty bottle with a cork top

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Top of the line for the St. Croix brand. Nice taste. Not too sweet. Not as smooth as of the other high end aged rums but not harsh either. Bottle as changed. Usually a good bargain at Total Wine.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 200 ratings

A nice oaky flavor that works well for sipping. One of my top three so far.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Straight out of the bottle and into the glass I'd say it's a 7/10. You give it around 45mins-1hour and you have something beautiful here.

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 88 ratings

An honest brand, which I like very much. I usually prefer the heaviness of a pot-still rum, but a light column-still rum like this can be quite enjoyable.
Light, as I had mentioned. Nice smooth vanilla accents, quite mild and pleasant. Nothing dramatic or showy, just very well balanced and delicate. I'd have it neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 228 ratings

Wonderful sipper with an ideal price point to match! Easy rum to find and at $35 a bottle, this rum offers an opportunity for anyone to be introduced to a nice rum enjoyed neat or mixed. Smooth and flavorful... well done St. Croix and Cruzan distillery!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Oliver from Canada with 4 ratings

Wonderful with a cube or two. Complex flavours that get better as the cubes melt.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin from United States with 1 rating

Rich in body, smooth, and wonderful aroma. No need for mixers, on the rocks or straight, amazing taste.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 1 month ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 195 ratings

Having read some unfavourable reviews I was a little hesitant to buy this bottle, which retails for $40 (CAD) in my area. Those who prefer sweet rum probably won't appreciate this rum as much as I did. I found Cruzan Single Barrel to be well balanced and simply delicious.

UPDATE (2018-02-23): Have tried many different rums since I first purchased CSB, Recently opened another bottle as I hadn’t sampled this rum for over 6 months and as I said above, it is delicious. More an 8.5 rating than 8. Definitely will be keeping a supply of this rum on hand.

UPDATE (21-10-21): While the bottle design has changed twice since I first tasted this rum I find little or no difference with the new bottle design. This is not a top ten rum but I simply really like the flavours and the fact that it is so dry. The low price just adds to the charm of this offering by Cruzan distillery. If I could I would score this rum 8.5 to 8.6. In my books I will always keep a number of Cruzan Single Barrel in my rum inventory.