loading

Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the โ€œCrucians."

7.0/10
145 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
7
23
64
29
11
4

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

145 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Bruce Jones ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 17 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Pretty good

Antonio ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 1 rating
Posted over 8 years ago

First timer with Cruzan Single Barrel Premium Extra Aged. Great deal at $11&change + tax@supermax in condado in a new upscale section dedicated to booze. Tried it neat & then wit & bit of lime. Smooth, good bodied, not overwhelming in any way. I recommend it favorably, great choice. Will repeat &substitute for one I have as regular. The aging is notable, pretty bottle with a cork top

B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Straight out of the bottle and into the glass I'd say it's a 7/10. You give it around 45mins-1hour and you have something beautiful here.

Tim ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I am an avid bourbon and rye drinker. I was recently on a cruise and decided to try one of their premium rums.
I happened on Cruzan and was surprised. It was sweeter then bourbon for sure, it was not subtle in many flavor areas. The nose was confusing, just so much going on, but the caramel, cherry, vanilla and molasses were evident.
The taste followed the nose and I enjoyed the punch of the caramel, almost tasted like an old fashioned.
The finish was sweet, almost like Dr. Pepper.

Oliver ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 4 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Wonderful with a cube or two. Complex flavours that get better as the cubes melt.

Stephen ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Top of the line for the St. Croix brand. Nice taste. Not too sweet. Not as smooth as of the other high end aged rums but not harsh either. Bottle as changed. Usually a good bargain at Total Wine.

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 230 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

A nice oaky flavor that works well for sipping. One of my top three so far.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 285 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Having read some unfavourable reviews I was a little hesitant to buy this bottle, which retails for $40 (CAD) in my area. Those who prefer sweet rum probably won't appreciate this rum as much as I did. I found Cruzan Single Barrel to be well balanced and simply delicious.

UPDATE (2018-02-23): Have tried many different rums since I first purchased CSB, Recently opened another bottle as I hadnโ€™t sampled this rum for over 6 months and as I said above, it is delicious. More an 8.5 rating than 8. Definitely will be keeping a supply of this rum on hand.

UPDATE (21-10-21): While the bottle design has changed twice since I first tasted this rum I find little or no difference with the new bottle design. This is not a top ten rum but I simply really like the flavours and the fact that it is so dry. The low price just adds to the charm of this offering by Cruzan distillery. If I could I would score this rum 8.5 to 8.6. In my books I will always keep a number of Cruzan Single Barrel in my rum inventory.

Cory Wid ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 97 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

An honest brand, which I like very much. I usually prefer the heaviness of a pot-still rum, but a light column-still rum like this can be quite enjoyable.
Light, as I had mentioned. Nice smooth vanilla accents, quite mild and pleasant. Nothing dramatic or showy, just very well balanced and delicate. I'd have it neat.

Tom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 230 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Wonderful sipper with an ideal price point to match! Easy rum to find and at $35 a bottle, this rum offers an opportunity for anyone to be introduced to a nice rum enjoyed neat or mixed. Smooth and flavorful... well done St. Croix and Cruzan distillery!

Justin ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 7 years ago

Rich in body, smooth, and wonderful aroma. No need for mixers, on the rocks or straight, amazing taste.