5.7/10
64 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
5
15
18
18
2
1

Rate Cruzan Light

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

64 Cruzan Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 11 months ago by TheRealMojito ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings

Grabbed a bottle of this as I was in a time crunch and the occasion didnโ€™t call for a high-dollar rum. Was pleasantly surprised at how smooth it was, and at a reasonable price point. Would definitely recommend.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Nerdmiami ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings

I should've known better than to buy this and immediately try it neat, but I am not very smart. I could not down a sipping sized glass, so i made myself a mai thai and everything worked out fine. Not the worst thing I've had... but I have had very bad things.

Posted over 2 years ago by Lex ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating

This clear rum tastes so much like ethanol with light vanilla/sweet flavors. It is mostly ethanol on the nose and on the palate. It does have a decent texture, but nothing covers up the ethanol.

Posted over 2 years ago by scallywagg444 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings

There are worse rums out there for sure. For bottom shelf, I'd take this over Bacardi or Captain, but would choose Palo Vejo over Cruzan in a heartbeat.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy Tee ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ | 148 ratings

Blend of rums aged one to four years in American oak casksโ€”then treated to a ๏ฌltration process that brings out the full-bodied taste.

N- Heat with rough oak aroma, some boiled cherry, sweaty and turn wet earth. Not with notable character that fall under the "generic but fine" type, no excessive sugar or additive, rather clean with some tea, some natural candy and whiff of chocolate. (85/19)

P- American oak shows in the form of plum, soft spices and drift of peach and assam-poi. (84/18)

F- Short-medium, though spiky but still smooth as it acclaimed on their slogan in the official site. (84/18)

B/B- 84/18

Weighted Rate- 73pt
โ€” at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings

A fair amount of alcohol on the nose, which soon gives way to vanilla and fruit. Slightly briny on the palate; off-dry. I'd guess this is a blended rum? Overall, I'm very impressed!

7, 7-

Posted over 4 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2886 ratings

Drink Cruzan Light neat and it will taste like aftershave. Mix it with Coke and you have a cheap Cuba Libre since you did not want to balk up Bacardi Superior.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rick ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings

Unique when compared to the typical readily available white runs at this price point. Some oak adds interest.. definitely different than a "standard" white. At $10 here in MI, I'll buy this again.

Posted 5 years ago by SkipZ ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings

I've been experimenting with white/light/silver rums lately because I wanted to narrow down a list of go-tos for stocking the bar with good, everyday mixers. Cruzan's Light Rum always seems to be in constant rotational sales with other popular and mass produced selections, so I gave it a go. Most recently, I've been mixing with light rums from Don Q, Bacardi and Capt. Morgan. All of those offer their own very distinctive personalities and I will get into those in their own reviews.
The Cruzan Light rum offers the best balance out of the ones above. Its lively but not overpowering in cocktails. The nose is rich with vanilla, toasted almond and toasted coconut with a little earthy-nuttiness. The alcohol has a strong presence that isn't overly astringent or detergent. In the mouth, my initial impression was of those candy isle marshmallows coated in toasted coconut. The body is light and crisp with a slight alcohol burn on the backend that fades relatively quick but left me mostly refreshed. To sum things up, the Cruzan makes lively cocktails and offers minimal astringency with toasty almond and coconut notes, mild sweetness and is still crisp but more mellow than it's price category rivals.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ramon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 76 ratings

I am usually a dark rum guy, it was 90 plus degrees at a little river side cafe and light seemed like a good idea. It was pleasant, it tasted like rum and not a bourbon barrel which is one thing I really like about the Cruzan products I have sampled. It drinks quite smooth straight. For me a nice refreshing rum.




Brand Details

Name: Light
Company: Cruzan
Type: Light
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
545
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513