Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
128 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
7
11
34
38
19
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

128 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Troy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 27 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I like violence, lifting, and naked ladies. I also like this rum. A lot. I know it is lower on the price point, but damnit it is good! Amazing mixing rum but also good for sipping on the rocks. Dark molasses mixed with the quiet whisper of evil

RumManDan πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 32 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

KJ πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

Levi πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Mike on PEI πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

Robert Bass πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

mistercoughy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

Scott spencer πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 33 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

Jacob Darrah πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

Riddler130 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 6 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

An excellent dessert rum, not for mixing but great for ice cream.