Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
127 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
7
11
34
37
19
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

127 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Jaybird πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 48 ratings

Sweet rich molassas and warming alcohol aroma. Fairly smooth with rich molasses and caramel notes. Sweet but not cloying. Good body. Warming but not hot. Great straight for occasional sipping or mixed with ginger beer and lime for a 'dark and stormy' - style drink. I can think of a number of uses for this one for a twist on cocktails. Very enjoyable and very affordable.

Posted over 6 years ago by RumManDan πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 32 ratings

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

Posted almost 8 years ago by KJ πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 24 ratings

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

Posted over 4 years ago by Levi πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike on PEI πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 24 ratings

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Robert Bass πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

Posted over 6 years ago by mistercoughy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 239 ratings

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

Posted over 4 years ago by Scott spencer πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jacob Darrah πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

Posted over 1 year ago by Riddler130 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 6 ratings

An excellent dessert rum, not for mixing but great for ice cream.




Brand Details

Name: Black Strap
Company: Cruzan
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2908
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514