Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
128 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
7
11
34
38
19
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

128 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Kevin πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 35 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

The nose is a very sweet almost syrupy aroma. Fortunately it's not nearly that sweet on the tounge. A bit of chared smokey flavor dominates. I had it neat but I would like to see how it works in a cocktail.

RumManDan πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 32 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

KJ πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

Levi πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Mike on PEI πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

Robert Bass πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

mistercoughy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

Scott spencer πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 33 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

Jacob Darrah πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

Riddler130 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 6 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

An excellent dessert rum, not for mixing but great for ice cream.