Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
136 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
7
12
35
41
20
9
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

136 Cruzan Black Strap Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

LiquidBrass ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 8 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Cruzan has a super strong molasses flavor to it. Drunk straight, the molasses flavours can be overwhelming. I was not a fan. Really needs to be used in mixed drinks.

chris ambler ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

enjoy the flavors of molasses and maple but not cloyingly sweet. A staple in the cabinet and the price is fantastic too.

Russell ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I like this strait up or in mix drinks. .have bought this for friends and they like it also

Ren ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

My first try of this one. There is no way I'd mix it with anything sweet (Coke, ginger ale, etc) as it's very sweet itself. Very strong molasses flavor, it's a smooth rum - I decided to cut that heavy flavor with a bit of seltzer & enjoyed it very much.

XenoCorey ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 43 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This stuff is massively underrated. I love keeping this stuff around in the winter time.. It has an amazing molasses flavor and it just makes you feel warm and cozy.

Jerry de la Hoya ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This stuff is cloyingly sweet. Reminded me of the maple syrup chug from Super Troopers. We bought this one night at a good price and could barely drink it. I saved the rum thinking it could be used down the road in a unique mixed drink in lieu of a syrup, but it overpowers everything I put it in.

DelectaBlee ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 59 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

As a fan of Cruzan rums, I decided to give this a try. At first sniff, the aroma of Boston brown bread came to mind. It has a stronger molasses flavor than most other rums but I also noticed hints of anise and vanilla giving this a fairly complex flavor, but it has a bit of a burn. With that said, I like this rum for a change and enjoyed it most on the rocks during my intial four-step tasting. I plan to explore mixers with this too. At about $16 US for a liter in Ohio, I think it's a good buy if this style appeals. I can think of other more expensive dark rums that I don't like as much as this.

Helena Tiare ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 110 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

This molasses flavored thick flavored rum is best for tiki drinks and in tiki drinks itยดs fantastic.

Neman3 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 297 ratings
Posted 14 days ago

Probably most black rum out of my ~300 sorts.
Slightly tart, delicious, hot. Dates, figs on the palate and the same in short aftertaste. Also, some medicine note detected which I did not like. Still Ok for the sipping, but it ruins dark'n'stormy.

sporefrog ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 56 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

This brings a LOT of flavor to a Jungle Bird or Hurricane... Far too much, in fact. Look, if you love drinking straight maple syrup, buy this in bulk immediately. But I always cut it with something unflavored.

MDrumrunner ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 43 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

On the nose, heavy Molasses, vanilla, honey and Nutmeg. Those notes come through on the palate. There's a slight hint of heat on the tongue but doesn't follow on the way down.




Brand Details

Type: Dark
Company: Cruzan
Country: Virgin Islands, U.S.
Name: Black Strap
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
2. Total Wine
Loading...