Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
136 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
7
12
35
41
20
9
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

136 Cruzan Black Strap Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

LiquidBrass 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Cruzan has a super strong molasses flavor to it. Drunk straight, the molasses flavours can be overwhelming. I was not a fan. Really needs to be used in mixed drinks.

Shane 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Very strong molasses or maple flavor to it to costume without a mixer. I used it as an ingredient in a tiki drink and it worked well. Limited use so the bottle will remain in the cabinet until summer....

Bill Gaylor 🇺🇸 | 51 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Its like Cruzan felt compelled to try to compete with other distillers and get a black strap rum out. Maple is a good discription. I like maple on my pancakes, not in my tiki drinks

Tikihead 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

I had to change my opinion after a little more analysis. This rum is very complex with too much maple syrup flavor for my taste. It has a very strong maple syrup flavor and odor. Heavy mouth-feel and extremely dark color. Could be sipped over ice if you like maple flavor. It did okay in a dark and stormy but terrible as my dark rum selection for a mai tai. Don't know what to do with this one. I would not buy it again.

Amalas 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

After a bad experience with Gosling's, I am not really sure why I thought this would be any good. I like Cruzan rums in general, but the "black strap" should have tipped me off as to the overwhelming molasses flavor. I opened the bottle, smelled it, and was immediately saddened.

Simple Man 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

With it's strong molasses and smokiness it's flavor is difficult to subdue. Use with caution. I use it to enhance other rums that lack character, I use it over chocolate or strawberry ice cream and it rounds out a authentic island rum punch.

Don Tucker 🇺🇸 | 193 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

Of the dark rums I have tried to so far, this has the strongest molasses taste. It gives the Dark and Stormy a different taste than my usual Gosling's or Old Lahaina. It's a good change up and one you should have in your cabinet.

Sherm Gutzman 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Smokey, flavorful, and sweet

Scott 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A decent rum that's ver dark with a strong molasses aroma and flavor. It has a unique taste on the rocks. Great in a rum runner or when mixed with pineapple & orange juice.

SaltwaterTom 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

I have friends that love this on the rocks, I mix it for the best rum runner in the world.

Dustin Doran 🇺🇸 | 78 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A great dark rum made from blackstrap molasses. Rich, dark and slightly cloying.




Brand Details

Type: Dark
Company: Cruzan
Country: Virgin Islands, U.S.
Name: Black Strap
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
2. Total Wine
Loading...