Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
136 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
7
12
35
41
20
9
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

136 Cruzan Black Strap Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

m keating 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Saw this on a friends shelf and asked to try it. Should have known what to expect it was her cooking shelf in the kitchen. Very sweet but not really that bad with no bad aftertaste. Would be best used in cooking but I will take her some ginger beer to try with it. Maybe I can get her to trade for some rum balls. I would give it a 3 to drink but a 10 to cook with, for me that comes out as a 6.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Not really a fan of the Cruzan brand but was curious about the Black Strap Rum. Don't laugh but when I smelled the rum after opening it I was reminded of good pancake syrup. That was a promising sign. Tasting it was interesting. Hits the tongue rather hard but fades nicely with a lingering sweetness that reminded me of a good pancake syrup. Definitely a molasses flavor but not overpowering. I could see this being sipped straight but best used in a cola where the sweetness is accentuated. No objectionable aftertaste. But does leave some odd flavors on the tongue. Now I need to try it with some ginger beers for a Dark & Stormy. I tried it in Coke Zero and was not pleased with how it turned out. This might be good in various rum punches and mai tai's. I believe it would be best suited in baking.

UPDATE: I wrote my initial review/opinion almost 2 years ago. I recently picked up another bottle for a second chance and discovered improvements in this rum as opposed to the older version. I still have the older bottle for comparison and there is a distinct improvement in aroma, appearance and flavor. The aroma in the newer bottle is quite good and no longer reminds of me of pancake syrup. Swirling it around my snifter reveals excellent legs. It is the darkest rum I have sampled. A dark chocolate hue. The flavor reveals the distinctive blackstrap molasses flavor and has a nice finish. Maybe I had a bad batch bottle initially or perhaps they improved their formula. Either way it's worth a 3-point increase in my rating. Definitely a good mixer but also a nice after-dinner dessert sipper.

Matt 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

I like Cruzan rums and Black Strap is a good choice in black rums. It has a strong molasses/brown sugar scent. Reasonably priced. For me it is my third choice in black rums, behind Captain Black and The Kracken. Use it as a mixer with Dr. Pepper instead of cola. It does foam a lot when mixed though. Nice to have around if you like blackstrap rum. Probably good in tropical mixers too. I will try that next.

Dustin R. Newton 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Very smoky, but lacks the sweetness that it desperately needs. Good with Coke.

Surfyguitar 🇺🇸 | 56 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Go to Rum for Mai Tai at Roy's. Try at happy hour.

Brion 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Tastes just like molasses. I don't often drink it straight, but if I'm making pineapple rum glaze for my island spiced chicken recipe, this is the best.

Chip 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Has a bit of a bite. Not to $$. Brown sugar / molasses favors. Ok on the rocks but better with a mixer. Haven't yet tried it in a Tiki drink.

Jay Crandall 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

I rarely find a rum I will drink straight from the bottle, but this? Add some fresh cream and you're better than halfway to a genuine horchata! The Molasses is very noticeable in both the nose and the aftertaste, and this is an easy drink which won't go after your stomach lining in 5 or 6 hours. I will say this tho- it doesn't play well with "Plantation" style drinks. Black Strap will overpower the fruit punch taste of plantation style drinks in a hurry- Be Warned...

LiquidBrass 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Cruzan has a super strong molasses flavor to it. Drunk straight, the molasses flavours can be overwhelming. I was not a fan. Really needs to be used in mixed drinks.

John 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Very strong molasses flavor, almost like liquorice. Not bad on the rocks, but better mixed with a little coke or ginger ale.




Brand Details

Type: Dark
Company: Cruzan
Country: Virgin Islands, U.S.
Name: Black Strap
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
2. Total Wine
Loading...