Coruba Original rum

Coruba Original

Jamaica | Spiced

Coruba Original Rum is dark rum produced by the Rum Company in Kingston, Jamaica. The blend is aged in charred oak barrels and caramel is added for color and flavor before bottling.

Coruba is a New Zealand brand, imported to New Zealand from Jamaica, and is the second largest selling spirit in the country.

5.7/10
39 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
6
11
8
1
3
2

Rate Coruba Original

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

39 Coruba Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Tad Generic πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 28 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Unmistakably Jamaican, which I've come to enjoy.

It's similar to the basic Appleton signature blend, with perhaps a bit more of a molasses hint.

It's drinkable neat, and not what I'd call harsh. For a cheap bottle it hits above its weight, which makes it good value.

This and Appleton signature will be my go-to basic rums, for when I don't want to pay $10 more for the Appleton 8 year.

Da'rum πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ | 22 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

The perfect mixer for a Rum and ginger beer (can't cal it Dark n Stormy as Goslings have trademarked that name) nevertheless its a perfect rum for that drink.

Brian πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 27 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I enjoy this dark rum in many cocktails & it’s relatively cheap

Mark πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 59 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

This is a very dark rum, almost impenetrable by light when in the bottle. Caramel colour in the glass. The smell of the rum is sweet molasses and alcohol. Sipping straight assaults the senses with harsh alcohol burn... Although the sweet molasses still comes through. This is OK with Coke, hopefully better with Ginger Beer. Disappointing...

Paul πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 141 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I first started drinking this rum in Mombasa Kenya in 1981, and even today i still go back to this one rum because the taste is just sensational and gives me the zing that is required in life like no other rum does
Cheers

Blake S. πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 13 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

First off, the label in Canada looks like it was printed in the worst part of the 1980's. A fellow recommended it to me. I should've known better when he said, "If you like this, you should try Lemonhart". Too alcohol-y, almost paint thinner.

Martin Kennedy πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 222 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Tried with both cola and ginger beer , not a great deal of difference , not bad but thats about it !

Bill Rogers πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 33 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Dark mixing rum. Good with ginger beer. You really can taste the molasses. This is for mixing or cooking only.

Tikihead πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 23 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is my favorite rum in a Mai Tai mixed together with Cruzan Aged Gold. The Coruba is a nicely balanced dark with not too much molasses flavor but just enough. Works wonders in any "tiki" drink and is great with cola.

Rumbum πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 4 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Warm dark rum with a distinctive aroma. smooth creamy texture when mixed with a little cola and leaves a pleasant after taste

BrandonJamesC41 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating
Posted 24 days ago

Loving this for tiki drinks and other cocktails. Rich deep flavors.