Coruba Original rum

Coruba Original

Jamaica | Spiced

Coruba Original Rum is dark rum produced by the Rum Company in Kingston, Jamaica. The blend is aged in charred oak barrels and caramel is added for color and flavor before bottling.

Coruba is a New Zealand brand, imported to New Zealand from Jamaica, and is the second largest selling spirit in the country.

5.7/10
38 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
6
11
7
1
3
2

Rate Coruba Original

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

38 Coruba Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by daveyjones 🇦🇺 | 22 ratings

Dark and stormy - Even hammer can’t touch this.
Planter’s punch - 2 legit.
Neat - don’t.

Smells like a licorice shop.
Tastes like a Jamaican sound system.

Much love

P.S. the label on this says bottled in New Zealand from local and imported ingredients.
Jamaican Rum?
Maybe sort of but it no longer says 100% Jamaican rum. I’d like to know what our antipodean friends are adding to the mix to help ‘craft’ this rum......
I’ll be getting Meyer’s next time.

Update: I got the Meyers’ and put on a blind tasting of dark and stormies made with Meyers, Goslings and Coruba. When all was done we had a unanimous preference for the Coruba.

We make our dark and stormies at 60ml rum, 120ml ginger beer and a big squeeze of fresh lime.

Posted over 9 years ago by Da'rum 🇩🇪 | 22 ratings

The perfect mixer for a Rum and ginger beer (can't cal it Dark n Stormy as Goslings have trademarked that name) nevertheless its a perfect rum for that drink.

Posted over 1 year ago by Brian 🇦🇺 | 27 ratings

I enjoy this dark rum in many cocktails & it’s relatively cheap

Posted 5 years ago by Mark 🇨🇦 | 59 ratings

This is a very dark rum, almost impenetrable by light when in the bottle. Caramel colour in the glass. The smell of the rum is sweet molasses and alcohol. Sipping straight assaults the senses with harsh alcohol burn... Although the sweet molasses still comes through. This is OK with Coke, hopefully better with Ginger Beer. Disappointing...

Posted over 5 years ago by Paul 🇦🇺 | 141 ratings

I first started drinking this rum in Mombasa Kenya in 1981, and even today i still go back to this one rum because the taste is just sensational and gives me the zing that is required in life like no other rum does
Cheers

Posted 6 years ago by Blake S. 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings

First off, the label in Canada looks like it was printed in the worst part of the 1980's. A fellow recommended it to me. I should've known better when he said, "If you like this, you should try Lemonhart". Too alcohol-y, almost paint thinner.

Posted 7 years ago by Martin Kennedy 🇦🇺 | 222 ratings

Tried with both cola and ginger beer , not a great deal of difference , not bad but thats about it !

Posted over 7 years ago by Bill Rogers 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings

Dark mixing rum. Good with ginger beer. You really can taste the molasses. This is for mixing or cooking only.

Posted over 8 years ago by Tikihead 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings

This is my favorite rum in a Mai Tai mixed together with Cruzan Aged Gold. The Coruba is a nicely balanced dark with not too much molasses flavor but just enough. Works wonders in any "tiki" drink and is great with cola.

Posted over 8 years ago by Rumbum 🇦🇺 | 4 ratings

Warm dark rum with a distinctive aroma. smooth creamy texture when mixed with a little cola and leaves a pleasant after taste

Posted 8 days ago by Skipper Joe 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings

Coruba is a but hard to find retail (around here) but is a staple behind the bar at tiki and tropical haunts across the US. I finally snagged a bottle for my own bar by chance. On it’s own, Coruba is surprisingly sipable - though not a smooth a more premium rums of course - tasting of rich molasses, hint of dried fruits, and a respectable punch of that characteristic ripe banana “funk” that comes from Jamaican rum It’s fairly inexpensive, but has a depth that is atypical for other rums in the price point - when used in tiki and tropical cocktails, I find it lends an agreeable character and body, conceivably taking the place of two rums in a mix, and lending an interesting “mouthfeel”, which I understand can be attributed to added glycerin. Very pleased that I was able to snag a bottle and will avail to make this one a workhorse of my home bar 🍹




Brand Details

Name: Original
Company: Coruba
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514