Coruba Original rum

Coruba Original

Jamaica | Spiced

Coruba Original Rum is dark rum produced by the Rum Company in Kingston, Jamaica. The blend is aged in charred oak barrels and caramel is added for color and flavor before bottling.

Coruba is a New Zealand brand, imported to New Zealand from Jamaica, and is the second largest selling spirit in the country.

5.7/10
38 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
6
11
7
1
3
2

Rate Coruba Original

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

38 Coruba Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

bren 🇦🇺 | 2 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

i like a rum that has a strong smell or taste as i have very limited smell and taste mostdays and some days none at all, so this is another strong cheap to buy rum that i drink a lot of/

Jaycee 🇦🇺 | 41 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Not to my liking. Too sweet and artificial. Would not drink unless masked heavily in a cocktail. Edit - there is a clear Jamaican funk which is pleasant Revised to a 4

Tad Generic 🇨🇦 | 28 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Unmistakably Jamaican, which I've come to enjoy.

It's similar to the basic Appleton signature blend, with perhaps a bit more of a molasses hint.

It's drinkable neat, and not what I'd call harsh. For a cheap bottle it hits above its weight, which makes it good value.

This and Appleton signature will be my go-to basic rums, for when I don't want to pay $10 more for the Appleton 8 year.

Bog Monster 🇦🇺 | 31 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This was a wonderful step up from Bundy in my youth, many years ago. An easy drinkable mixing rum that offers a distinctive aroma and flavour that is enjoyable but not sort after. Recently had a glass to review and was surprised by the cloggy, viscous syrup feel of it. This is comparable to and belongs to the same category as Capt Morgans Dark. I would recommend you spend the extra couple of dollars and buy Havana Club whilst keeping in the budget category.

shinz 🇳🇿 | 4 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Not sure about this, drank it a lot in my youth with coke but now find it a bit syrupy, almost medicinal in flavour, think cough mixture with extras. I didn't rate it in my Dark & Stormies, just not enough raw rum flavour to work.

Knownot 🇳🇿 | 20 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I know you shouldn’t expect much from this rum but it’s just so hard to drink.

The only time I will comfortably touch a bottle of Coruba is if I have had far too many drinks prior.

I mean it’s still rum.

Ravanagh 🇦🇺 | 23 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Pretty good. Nothing wrong with it. While not a great rum, at least it’s not spiced; and it’ll definitely give you that heady, tropical rum sense of romance.

Diego 🇦🇺 | 20 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This Rum has been around for ages, It's an ok rum, but surpassed by many others in quality and taste. Still does the job for Punches and cocktails if you have nothing better at hand.

Chubb169 🇦🇺 | 6 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I grew up on this rum. Only mixes with Coke and not one to savour. However, it's smooth enough and good value.

Pricky55 🇦🇺 | 7 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

One mouthful and I was back in 1981, in Chips Nightclub, Wellington, NZ drinking jugs of Coruba and coke.
A smooth rum that mixes well with cola, not too sweet and still retains a strong rum flavour. It has a hint of molasses and caramel and on its own with soda water is also a very nice rum.