Parce 8-Year rum

Parce 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.9/10
42 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
10
8
12
3
5

Rate Parce 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

42 Parce 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jero83 🇨🇴 | 10 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Here in Colombia, it has a name. Maybe for that reason I was expected THE rum. It really its a good rum, nice color and very good if you consider the aged. But I was expecting a more tasty flavor. Its a little expensive when I consider cost/benefit.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 535 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I thought I'd try a bottle of this and the 12 year due to the 12 year's good reviews. I tried this first, and this is really good! Tastes and smells of oak, molasses, and a light hint of bourbon. I like that it's somewhat sweet, unlike many other bourbon aged rums.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Parce 8-Year is a nice transition rum for those that are used to drinking whiskey. You will not find it on their website but parce is aged in Jack Daniel's barrels. On the 8 year, this gives it a sweet candied fruit taste. There is enough of the whiskey character left in the taste to remind one of sipping on Jack.
The parce 8-Year is a great starting point for a whiskey drink just starting to explore aged rums. With parce, when they list the rum at 8 years, they mean that the youngest rum in the bottle is 8 years.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 464 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Compared to it's semi-dry 12 Year Old brother that I rated as an 8, this one ranks in my lower 7's. It is bone dry and the bourbon notes are allowed to come through, but without being downright irritating. This one ran me $40 US, but it's 12 Year Old brother costs another $26, but is still the better buy. Both gift boxes have the same crazy art work on them.

hans 🇩🇪 | 13 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

I tried this rum side by side with the la hechicera solera, dictador 20y, and a Zacapa 23 and the parce was definitely the most interesting and recognizable rum of them (parce is the first and lightest in the picture, followed by the list above). It is clearly drier and you can smell and taste the oak casks. Spicier than the others, but not burning in any way. Much lighter in color (but the Zacapa 23 cheats with food coloring).

Very interesting rum!

beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Tried side by with the 12 year. Perhaps my palate is not sufficiently discerning, but I found it hard to taste much beyond chocolate, and some bourbon sweetness. I liked it, it's reasonably priced, it's good, a lot of people would enjoy it, I bet it is great in coffee... But I think most rum heads will prefer something else.

Ron Tyaon 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nice combo of light sweetness with an interesting smoky vanilla note from the Jack Daniel's barrels it is aged in. Not the sweet and molasses notes as many aged rums. Smooth finish with cola notes.

Chet 🇺🇸 | 192 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Good rum with hints of dry tobacco, mild cigar, leather, and a touch of dark fruits. Zero sweetness and goes well neat alongside of a pipe. I liked this rum more than the 12 year. Man's rum for sure.

Pascal 🇨🇦 | 207 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

J ai adoré ce rhum, qui en vaut la peine. Il est doux, il goûte la noisette et le chêne.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Enjoyed a glass of Ron Parce 8 year old rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design are just okay, but nothing spectacular. Semi dark mahogany color. A little bit of oak straight to your nose and palate followed with overwhelmingly sweet notes. Mild burn at the end. Very surprisingly the 8y is much better and much more smooth than the 12y. For whisky lovers, add 2 points.

RumRunner 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

The comments on Parce 8 year-old are love/hate with little in between and I understand why. Sampling rums with good friends, we'd tried a couple of sweeter rums before cracking open the Parce bottle. Tried it on the rocks with little time to breath first. SHOCK. I thought my friends were having some fun and had slipped me a bourbon. Look, I love a good bourbon, but not when I'm expecting rum. This was unpleasantly overpowering, although it is smooth. I could try it another night and enjoy it, but make sure your expecting something closer to Jack than Ron when you try this one.




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: Parce
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading