Parce 8-Year rum

Parce 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.9/10
43 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
11
8
12
3
5

Rate Parce 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

43 Parce 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

sandman_01 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I bought this bottle on the recommendation of a local package store. Unfortunately it's not worth the $45. Overall it's smooth and not overly sweet - the way I like my rum, but there is a pungent sawdust aroma and flavor that overpowers every sip. Almost makes it hard to drink. I've been mixing what's left with Flor de Cana 12 and that has helped tone it down a bit. Won't purchase again.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 536 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I thought I'd try a bottle of this and the 12 year due to the 12 year's good reviews. I tried this first, and this is really good! Tastes and smells of oak, molasses, and a light hint of bourbon. I like that it's somewhat sweet, unlike many other bourbon aged rums.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Parce 8-Year is a nice transition rum for those that are used to drinking whiskey. You will not find it on their website but parce is aged in Jack Daniel's barrels. On the 8 year, this gives it a sweet candied fruit taste. There is enough of the whiskey character left in the taste to remind one of sipping on Jack.
The parce 8-Year is a great starting point for a whiskey drink just starting to explore aged rums. With parce, when they list the rum at 8 years, they mean that the youngest rum in the bottle is 8 years.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 464 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Compared to it's semi-dry 12 Year Old brother that I rated as an 8, this one ranks in my lower 7's. It is bone dry and the bourbon notes are allowed to come through, but without being downright irritating. This one ran me $40 US, but it's 12 Year Old brother costs another $26, but is still the better buy. Both gift boxes have the same crazy art work on them.

hans 🇩🇪 | 13 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

I tried this rum side by side with the la hechicera solera, dictador 20y, and a Zacapa 23 and the parce was definitely the most interesting and recognizable rum of them (parce is the first and lightest in the picture, followed by the list above). It is clearly drier and you can smell and taste the oak casks. Spicier than the others, but not burning in any way. Much lighter in color (but the Zacapa 23 cheats with food coloring).

Very interesting rum!

beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 77 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Tried side by with the 12 year. Perhaps my palate is not sufficiently discerning, but I found it hard to taste much beyond chocolate, and some bourbon sweetness. I liked it, it's reasonably priced, it's good, a lot of people would enjoy it, I bet it is great in coffee... But I think most rum heads will prefer something else.

Dan 🇨🇦 | 20 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I wanted to like this rum because it was a gift from a relative, but it didn't work for me. Found the taste light and simple. nothing objectionable, but nothing special. A bit sweet, some vainilla and sugar cane, An ok mixer but would not buy.

Ron Tyaon 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nice combo of light sweetness with an interesting smoky vanilla note from the Jack Daniel's barrels it is aged in. Not the sweet and molasses notes as many aged rums. Smooth finish with cola notes.

Chet 🇺🇸 | 196 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Good rum with hints of dry tobacco, mild cigar, leather, and a touch of dark fruits. Zero sweetness and goes well neat alongside of a pipe. I liked this rum more than the 12 year. Man's rum for sure.

Pascal 🇨🇦 | 208 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

J ai adoré ce rhum, qui en vaut la peine. Il est doux, il goûte la noisette et le chêne.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Enjoyed a glass of Ron Parce 8 year old rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design are just okay, but nothing spectacular. Semi dark mahogany color. A little bit of oak straight to your nose and palate followed with overwhelmingly sweet notes. Mild burn at the end. Very surprisingly the 8y is much better and much more smooth than the 12y. For whisky lovers, add 2 points.




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: Parce
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading