Chamarel XO 6-Year rum

Chamarel XO 6-Year

Mauritius | Aged

6.7/10
21 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
7
6
1

Rate Chamarel XO 6-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Chamarel XO 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2886 ratings

Tried the Chamarel XO 6y and I was not expecting it to be this dry. Close comparison to a high end cognac. The bottle looks very high end, color is nice and deep, but I'm not a fan of the dry rums at all.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Frip 🇧🇪 | 14 ratings

I had a good surprise with the VSOP, so I would expect this one to be even more elaborated... but was not the case to me. Stick to VSOP if you like slightly sweet rhum with character.

Posted 1 year ago by StevesSpirits 🇨🇦 | 44 ratings

Chamarel XO is an agricultural-style (pure cane juice) rum aged for 6 years in French oak barrels and bottled at 43%ABV. The distillery is located in Mauritius 🇲🇺.

In the nose there is cinnamon, vanilla, kiwi, soap, sourness, thyme, orange, banana, and some herbal and grassy qualities.

The palate is thin, peppery, ginger and grassy.

The finish is dry, coffee and dark chocolate.

This rum is interesting and it has complexity, but I find it's a little hot for the ABV and a little too dry for my liking.

Posted 1 year ago by Rei 🇩🇪 | 117 ratings

Beautiful bottle design and color. The rum is produced using fresh sugar cane juice so it is an Agricole style rum. Nosing dominated by full range of tropical fruits with vanilla.
The palate is smooth and very aromatic with notes of vanilla, banana, wood and caramel. The only fault in my view is the duration of the finish: given the excellent experience taken so far one does wish it to last on much longer, but the finish fades away too swiftly. With a longer finish this would be an extraordinary rum, that way it is (still) a pretty good rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bassdscho92 🇦🇹 | 12 ratings

It has some hint of tyres in it, which I didn't expect. But I like it since this hint makes the rum special. Might not be the best price option but putting this aside, it's an expressive Mauritian Rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 494 ratings

Schönes mahagonifarbiges Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase ein harmonischer, bunter Strauss voller Düfte. Kandierte tropische Früchte in einer neu gezimmerten Kiste, weisse süsse Früchte liegen oben drauf. Vanillecreme mit eingetunkten Karamellstücklein, garniert mit den typischen Mauritius Medizinkräuter.
Am Gaumen weich, warm und wunderbar ausbalanciert. Frische fruchtige und herbe dumpfe Aromen wollen sich nicht gegenseitig übertrumpfen. Da gehen Karamell, Vanille, Banane, Holz, Kakao, Kohle, e.c.t. Hand in Hand spazieren.
Im Abgang lang und lecker. Zwischendurch macht sich eine kleine Bitterkeit breit die jedoch schnell einem Schoko-Karamell Aroma platz machen.
Ein toller Rum und so anders als ein französischer Agricole. Bietet Jedermann eine Freude.

Beautiful mahogany amber in a glass.
In the nose a harmonious, colourful bouquet full of fragrances. Candied tropical fruits in a newly built box, white sweet fruits are on top. Vanilla cream with dipped caramel pieces, garnished with the typical Mauritius medicinal herbs.
On the palate soft, warm and wonderfully balanced. Fresh fruity and tart dull aromas do not want to outdo each other. Caramel, vanilla, banana, wood, cocoa, charcoal, e.c.t. go hand in hand.
Long and tasty in the finish. In between, a little bitterness spreads, but it quickly gives way to a chocolate-caramel aroma.
A great rum and so different from a French Agricole. Offers everyone a pleasure.

Posted 2 years ago by miRcea SAVA 🇷🇴 | 31 ratings

Very nice flavour. Alcohol is under control. Nice colour. I drank it there, in the Rhumerie, so I have nice memories about it... :)
But quite expensive for what you get.

Posted over 2 years ago by v63d 🇩🇪 | 8 ratings

The Chamarel XO is a top Agricole rum, even if it is not officially allowed to call it that. I am actually a sweet rum lover and this rum has a pleasant, light sweetness. Despite his 43% alcohol, I find him very mild, especially when compared to his two younger brothers, the VSOP and the VS. I was recently allowed to taste all Chamarel Rums locally in the Rhumerie de Chamarel in Mauritius. The XO is definitely the most balanced. I find it spicy rather than fruity, with just some slight citrus flavors. It remained barely an alcoholic pungency in the mouth and although it comes along quite dry, there is this pleasant sweetness with some vanilla flavors. The price is about 80€ but I think it is worth it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Uuukey 🇯🇵 | 15 ratings

蒸留を開始した2008年の貴重な原酒を中心に、オーク樽にて最低6年以上熟成されたものをブレンド。
創業家の情熱と努力が実を結んだ創業年に生まれた原酒。最長熟成となる逸品。

Posted almost 3 years ago by cK 🇨🇦 | 65 ratings

Very sippable for a 6 year aged rum, though it does have a bit of burn. Would probably also make a good mixer.




Brand Details

Name: XO 6-Year
Company: Chamarel
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 6
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
558
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513