Old J TIki Fire Spiced rum

Old J TIki Fire Spiced

United Kingdom | Overproof

7.6/10
27 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
4
7
6
4

Rate Old J TIki Fire Spiced

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 Old J TIki Fire Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Wayne Upton πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 136 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I normally wouldn't take a 151 rum straight, but this was actually a pleasant experience. Very full of flavor with vanilla and lime, the spice is not overpowering, and the burn is slight. A fun rum.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 515 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I didn't expect to like this much given it's low price. And flavored rums aren't usually my favorite.

But this has a beautiful nose of heavy vanilla and a hint of lime that smelled surprisingly good. I was eager to try it straight at 151 proof. To my surprise, I didn't have any difficulty drinking it straight.

The 75.5abv really counterbalances the super sweet vanilla flavor. In fact, I found this better straight than after I added water.

The question for me was "which is the best overproof rum, the Old J Tiki Fire Spices, or the Lemon Hart 151 (the two highest rated overproof rums as of this review)"? That was a tough question as the Lemon Hart has a more traditional rum flavor which I usually prefer.

I tried them straight, and then I mixed them with cold water. Though I'm generally not a huge fan of flavored rums (which the Old J Tiki Spiced is), I really like the Old J Tiki Spiced. The sweet vanilla flavor somehow works at a high abv.

I rate both overproof rums a low 8, but I'll give this an edge over the Lemon Hart. I guess it's the sweet tooth in me.

Woody Charisma πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A very powerful rum that definitely blows the cobwebs away, however it's still smooth despite its sheer strength. This mixes very well with apple juice and I don't usually like apple juice.

Owen πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 9 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

When you sample this one don't give up after the first kiss! All Overproofs are fire, of course, but a second and subsequent sips will change the profile considerably. Novocaine, becomes a river of lime down the tongue becomes concentrated spicy goodness. A treat compared to most 151 rums.

Lucy224 πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 16 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

An explosion of flavour in your mouth followed by a strong vanilla taste. Overproof but so smooth!

David Conway πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 2 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Dark Matter was my all time favourite spiced rum until I found this tipple. Very powerful drink and yet remains smooth and pleasant to the last drop. Still to decide if I prefer it with coke or ginger beer.

Mark Ellis πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 38 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I first tried this in St Ives, Cornwall. The barmaid asked if I wanted ice, coke or lemonade with it. I prefer straight up. She said are you sure. She watched my first sip and reaction...blimey my mouth was on fire! But once the inferno was out and my taste buds shrivelled, it was ok. I purchased a bottle for special occasions !!!
I recommend this, even if it is just for the fun factor

Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 571 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

As a shot it's deep in vanilla flavour... Harsh on the flavour and not amazing on ice but better than original old j...

wayoutwest πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 64 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Spotted this at the back of the bar. Had no idea what to expect. The bar man said it was 75%, so thought 50/50 with lemonade was wise.
Tasted like Dom Bendictine. Spicy, but in a medicinal way, which I really wasn't expecting.

John Herring πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 14 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Just yes. If you drink it neat, then this is a sipper, I mixed with ginger beer and it was lovely. Not a regular drink just for the odd one now and again.




Brand Details

Name: TIki Fire Spiced
Company: Old J
Type: Overproof
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading