Watson's Trawler rum

Watson's Trawler

United Kingdom | Gold

6.8/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
3
4
1

Rate Watson's Trawler

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Watson's Trawler ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

kevie ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 11 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Watson's Trawler Rum has been a regular rum drink for me for years. Of all of the dark rums of it's age (I think it's 5-8 years old) it offers the most flavours of the ones that I find in my local supermarket. A thick consistency and a nose of caramel and burnt sugar. The taste follows through with an initial bit of bitterness on the tongue followed by a sweet lingering aftertaste. The flavours can be very strong, especially if your used to OVD, but I find that water doesn't enhance it very much. This is where you see the true delight of this rum; if your not a fan of it straight then this is the best choice for a rum and cola. The strength in the flavour means that it is not drowned out by the cola mixer. It's relatively young age does provide a bit if a burn when drank neat, but at ยฃ17 it's not aimed at the sipping market.

The only problem seems to be sourcing it: except for us lucky enough to have it stocked locally. This is the main rum that you will be offered if you go shopping in the Western Isles, however I have found it very hard to come by on the mainland.

One word of warning: take it easy. This rum gives me one of the worst hangovers if I over indulge, I really do suffer. But this is definitley a rum to be savoured, try it straight first, but if the flavours are too strong then I recommend mixing it with the cola of your choice (Pepsi is my personal favourite).

Iainrummy ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 6 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

A very strong flavoured rum. Suprisingly good as well. Very popular in the Outer Hebrides.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2994 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Watson's Trawler Rum was such a big positive surprise. Very close to the Cubaney 15 year old rum in several aspects. Watson's Trawler Rum is the second darkest rum in color I have ever seen right behind the amazing Black Tot. Smell test reveals very deep flavors, once more very close to the smell test with Cubaney 15y. The taste test of Watson's is the best since the rum is very rich, but super flavorful and the taste lingers for a loooong time. No burn at all, although I was expecting it to be quite strong. Very well done indeed!

Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 598 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This is a normal Demerara rum , deep hold flavour that is suitable for rum. Delicious on ice once the ice has melted a little takes the afterburn away ...

Gondwana ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น | 7 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Good spiced Rum with sugar cane molasse, keeps long lasting.
Hard to get.
A good bargain!

WEDGEYBOY1 ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 23 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

So at ยฃ18 a bottle you should always buy this instead of Captain Morgan Dark. More flavour and 40% not 37.5%. Perfectly sippable neat with a rich rounded flavour.

angobando ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ | 10 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

It's full bodied and has sweet sugary chocolatey flavour. I guess it's what we call classic dark rum with strong Demerara notes. Can't say it's my favourite taste, but obviously it's not cheap uninteresting spirit drink. I like it though. 68/100 for now, but I'll taste it again some other time.

And yeah, Trawler's the best mixers for me by far.

EDIT: might change the score to 72/100 as I automatically choose this dark beauty over some 8/10 rums in my cabinet. It's so pleasing to taste... wanna go after other dark Demerara rums as well.

Trelony ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ | 44 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Interesting rum with its own character. ะt first I was afraid that he would be as shitty as his brother with yellow label, but he was better. Yes, it also had quite a bit of bitterness, but in moderation. Despite the amount of molasses, it wasn't very sweet. It is naive to demand special fruit flavors from it, so it is not suitable for drinking neat, but it looks much more confident in cocktails. And given its extremely low price - a very useful purchase.

Dave Eagles ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 3 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Plenty of lasting flavour
Great over ice with ginger ale and a 1/4 Chucky of fresh life

AlexMo ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ | 191 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

There are pepper, tobacco, coffee, blackcurrant in aroma. Bitter is dominate in taste, but it has many fans. The second tumbler gifts sweetness. Light snacks and salads will be suitabled. Your night and morning will not be overshadowed. I bought another bottle because it costs only 14$ in Moscow.




Brand Details

Name: Trawler
Company: Watson's
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading