Cockspur Old Gold Special Reserve rum

Cockspur Old Gold Special Reserve

Barbados | Gold | 43.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

7.4/10
8 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
2

Rate Cockspur Old Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Cockspur Old Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by El Cap πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 61 ratings

This is in the running for my favorite β€œgold” rum.
I would think of it alongside Xaymaca plantation, or the scarlet ibis. Really good stuff for a simple daiquiri, and really distinctive in some more complex cocktails.
Also stands up nicely on its own with a splash of water. I don’t spot it in my local stores often- ordered it by mail. If you spot it, give it a shot!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bill πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 92 ratings

Do you know what, for the modest price and the fact their better-known supermarket rum isn't that great, I liked this. It's smooth enough for a sipper, but lacks a tiny bit on the finish so this is a slightly generous 8, but for 30 quid: get some!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Eli πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating

Admittedly I am not the most experienced Rum drinker, nor do I claim to have a particularly sophisticated pallet, but to put it clearly: this is the best rum I have tasted. The price is relatively cheap for real aged rum and when compared to other Cockspur offerings, the smooth flavor sits better with me than the more expensive Cockspur VSOR. This rum outshines several Diplimatico rums and a handful of other more expensive brands. As a side, I believe that this rum is hangover-proof even if I go for that extra glass when I know a shouldn't. So, until I get around the block a bit more, this rum will sit atop the throne and will likely always have a place in my cabinet.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Louie (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 77 ratings

A beautiful sweet sipping rum with full of flavours

Posted almost 6 years ago by Patski πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 1 rating

when I was on a cruise last year, I tried to bring one or 2 little bottles of rum for every islands I visited.. the best one I ogt is certainly the cockspur Old Gold that I got in Barbados!

Very smooth rum, sweet, like most of the rums in the caribbeans! notes of spices ans caramel, I could drink it all day by the pool!

Posted over 1 year ago by YohoYoho πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 11 ratings

I’ve tried it in rum and Coke and also straight - a lot of flavor and not too bad of an alcohol bite. Finished the bottle in about three days over the holidays. Seemed to have quite a dark color, whether that is from age or added caramel I’m not sure, but either way, I liked it and would buy it again.

Posted over 3 years ago by je_farley πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 106 ratings

Strong caramel with just a hint isle spices make this a great mixing and sipping rum. Carried itself in a Coke and though not the best it is smooth on the palate as a sipping rum. A solid rum to add to any bar...

Posted almost 4 years ago by Angela πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating

Old Gold is by far the best of all the Cockspur rums. Bold taste with that sweet burn as it decends into the belly. It goes well as a mixer or just on the rocks. I personally like while on the beach in Barbados, but it is so hard to get in the states. Best rum ever tasted.




Brand Details

Name: Old Gold Special Reserve
Company: Cockspur
Type: Gold
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 43.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
542
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
513