Cockspur 5 Star Fine rum

Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Barbados | Gold | 37.5% ABV

Cockspur 5 Star is a golden combination of column and pot-stilled rums matured in American white oak barrels before blending. Coral-filtered water is used from a nearby aquifer to dilute the rum to bottle strength.

The company Cockspur was founded in 1884 by Danish seaman Valdemar Hanschell. Barbados was chosen as a location beccause at the time it was one of the Caribbean's largest shipping ports.

5.9/10
65 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
15
22
15
6
1

Rate Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

65 Cockspur 5 Star Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mephisto 🇩🇪 | 39 ratings

Nearly no nose perceptible, weak taste in addition. Maybe good for mixing, because there is no annoying taste and the rum is soft.

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 317 ratings

Had just a sample of this rum that’s a blend of Coffey Still rums aged in American white oak bourbon barrels.
In nose it’s fruity, oaky and spicy.
In mouth and palate it’s still fruity but I also detect chocolate, vanilla and tobacco were the latter taste dominates.
During the medium long finish it’s fruity, spicy and with the tobacco taste still there.
Overall a quite nice rum that unfortunately tastes a little too weak except for the tobacco taste. I give it a weak 7!
Picture: My emptied sample poured in a glass.

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings

Most of the st. lucian rum finds a warm place in my heart, and the royal oak is no exception. On paper it's a pretty straight forward 40% vol. blend, aged in bourbon casks between 7-12 years, but it's wonderfully balanced.
The nose treats you nicely with raisin, brown sugar, chewy caramel, oak and hints of mint.
The taste is medium bodied and strikes a good balance between the rounded, fat sweeter notes and the subtle dry, spices.
First up I get the chewy caramel and sweet tobacco. The midpalate fades into mint, oily leather and slightly bitter oak cask, keeping the rum complex and interesting. The finish offers a tiny bit of dry tannins and subtle baking spices like ginger, cloves and perhaps a smidge of cinnamon.
This is almost as drinkable as the great, classic "extra old 12 year" and offering a bit more complexity I would say. The choice between the two, would depend on my mood on the given day (8,6)

Posted over 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 326 ratings

This is outstanding. Deep and complex. Thick and chewy. Flawlessly smooth. I have tried 3 ships in the Admiral Rodney fleet. All were impressive. This one is awesome and stands slightly above the rest. Balance is perfect. Not sweet. Great bite but you hardly notice it. Fantastic sipper. Better neat than on ice but GREAT either way. Lovely tobacco, coffee and plum notes. Finish is long and subtle. Very smooth and memorable. So good I am going to have to buy the officers release. Well done AGAIN by St Lucia distillers.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bill 🇬🇧 | 92 ratings

Beautiful rum. Smooth, packed with flavour, complex finish. Love it.

Posted 5 months ago by Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 494 ratings

Kupferfarbenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase mild und ausgewogen. Das Holz ist sehr dominant, jede einzelne Duftnote ist in einem separaten Holzgebinde verpackt. Kandiszucker, Dörrpflaumen, Tee und Tabak alles schön in Kisten verpackt.
Am Gaumen weich und zart. Karamell, Toffee, schwarzen Kirschen und andere dunkle Früchte. Tannine und Harze verstärken das ganze irgendwie.
Im Abgang ein wenig ein Gewusel, zurück bleibt leicht bitteres Karamell.
Ein harmonisch weicher Rum der zum Nichtstun einlädt. Für Seefahrer und Landratten. 7+
- 2cl Muster -

Copper colored amber in the glass.
Mild and balanced on the nose. The wood is very dominant, each fragrance is packed in a separate wooden container. Candy sugar, prunes, tea and tobacco all nicely boxed.
Soft and delicate on the palate. Caramel, toffee, black cherries and other dark fruits. Tannins and resins somehow enhance the whole.
A bit of a bustle on the finish, leaving behind slightly bitter caramel.
A harmoniously soft rum that invites you to do nothing. For sailors and landlubbers. 7+
- 2cl sample -

Posted 5 months ago by Pollux 🇨🇦 | 242 ratings

Calendrier de l'avent 2021, jour 15. Très bon rhum de dégustation avec un beau nez et un bon goût en bouche.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bramski 🇳🇱 | 15 ratings

Lets start off with the design: it looks amazing! Nice bottle, interesting backstory and great colour of the drink itself.

The smell is not very prominent but there are some fruity elements in there to discover. Then the taste: again not very outspoken from the start but very, very smooth, without any too predominant sweetness or alcohol taste. Realy elegant and enjoyable. The aftertaste is spicy and has a nice duration. Remote but present burn, just the way I like it. Watch out, because this will be flying out of your glass! Cheers!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert 🇸🇰 | 44 ratings

I got this as bday gift and was looking forward to taste it as the low local availability and price tag implied that this should be some extra ordinary stuff. I must honestly say it isnt. Dont get me wrong, its a great rum, nice sipper, smells fruity, vanilla like with just a little alcohol. However, the taste is too much liquor-ish with lots of orange flavors. Reminds me from far far away of Don Papa and Pyrat (although different in general but rum tasters will get me for sure). Quite a lot alcohol and afterburn. I had few glasses, one also with chocolate, one with cigar, and although it was a nice experience I am not planning on buying this one. Maybe I try it in the future, I am quite interested in others in HMS family

Posted 15 days ago by Chito 🇧🇬 | 20 ratings

This is very special rum.
Deep and smooth, it's reminds me of like very old fashioned man.

Posted 1 month ago by Andrewofcalgary 🇨🇦 | 158 ratings

A nose with a bit of maple. A taste of aged wood but just the right amount. A slight vegetative flavour, but overwhelmingly the smoothest rum I think Ive had in awhile. Incredibly smooth. I'll be diving into even more of their offerings in the near future because of this great sampling.




Brand Details

Name: 5 Star Fine
Company: Cockspur
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 37.5%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514