loading

Background Image
Preload image
Cockspur 5 Star Fine rum

Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Barbados | Gold | 37.5% ABV

Cockspur 5 Star is a golden combination of column and pot-stilled rums matured in American white oak barrels before blending. Coral-filtered water is used from a nearby aquifer to dilute the rum to bottle strength.

The company Cockspur was founded in 1884 by Danish seaman Valdemar Hanschell. Barbados was chosen as a location beccause at the time it was one of the Caribbean's largest shipping ports.

6.0/10
68 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
16
23
17
6
1

Rate Cockspur 5 Star Fine

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

68 Cockspur 5 Star Fine Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 142 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nutty nose with brown sugar. Taste takes a while to come through with delayed tingly spice that lingers. I get walnuts, oak, maybe even a little blueberry undertone. Finish lingers and isn't great, little sour. Not overly complex but surprisingly OK to sip on with a few ice cubes.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 486 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Many a rough evening in Barbados drinking this when the Mt Gay wasnโ€™t around. I could only mix it typically with a little cool water and lime in the local rum shacks. Like I said what the locals drink.

Cory Wid ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 97 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I'm fairly new to the Baja style of rum. I got spoiled with R.L. Seale's 10yr for my first taste, though at least as I move along I can't really seem to find a bad one.
Its really nice, and I like that it has some pot-still weight. Has a somewhat thick mouthfeel, with toasty dark sugar and fruity notes, and a spicy finish - all very well behaved and balanced.
No added sugar or artificial flavors, and no tricks or misleading labeling. An honest rum; a good one to keep around.

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 236 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Sugar: 0-4 GPL. Right off the start there is Oak, Vanilla, a bit of caramel and some biting spice. This is a golden rum which comes from limited aging. Like other โ€œMixing โ€œ rums this one has some harsh alcohol taste and aroma that cola or other juice mixes will hide and make for a good mixed drink.

Kieron wood (BASIC) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 621 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

An excellent all-rounder... Also value for money is decent
..not decent neat but mainly a cocktail or mixer drink

Dave1968 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 22 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

My first ever trip to the Caribbean was to Barbados. This rum is great in daiquiris.

Les 80 ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 70 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

I like this easy to drink and easy to mix for the price it dose both jobs but mostly for mixer

WEDGEYBOY1 ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 23 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Sweet, easy drinking and perhaps bland would be the best word or maybe inoffensive.

Kevin ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 25 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Not good enough to drink on its own, but ok for cocktails, if it can be found at a reasonable price.

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 67 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Probably a 4 based off tasting notes alone, however factor in the price ($13.50 USD in my locale) and youโ€™ve got yourself a winner!
What else is there in that price range? Bacardi? Cruzan? Seriously a killer deal.




Brand Details

Company: Cockspur
Type: Gold
Raw Material: Unknown
Brand Process: Unknown
Distillation Type: Unknown
Name: 5 Star Fine
ABV: 37.5%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading