Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10
286 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
11
26
107
95
39
5

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

286 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

boyblueau 🇦🇺 | 51 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

In the rum world you may hear people mention the word Hogo. Have a sip of this and you'll understand what it means. It's like a deep funky bassline from Bootsy Collins. It's the benchmark Jamaican rum for me. It has serious punch and does things most other rums don't do. It's complex, dark and mysterious. Many will argue that there are other rums that have a much more noticeable or distinct Hogo and I completely agree. I just think that with this rum you can appreciate the Hogo in it's subtleties. It's more of a caress than a complete beating of your senses. It's just a lovely experience.

SPEHUN 🇭🇺 | 73 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Illatra kellemes, nagyon picit karcos a lecsengése de finom rum.

KrispyKreme 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Great sipping Rum with just enough "funk" to keep you reaching for more!

rumtrinker 🇩🇪 | 32 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

There is little or no added sugar in this. And they bottle at 43% ABV, even in Germany, where 40% is the norm for spirits (and where rum can go as low as 37,5%). That alone is a reason to like this stuff.
But it does not stop there, oh no. At a very reasonable price, you get a rum that was aged 12 years. No solera bullshit, no "oldest rum" bullshit, just solid 12 years. And that is great, as it shows in the taste.

In the nose you get funk, wood (12 years!), molasses, spice, heat, and just a little bit of alcoholic bite, which fits perfectly in. This is not a smooth rum, and it should not be. If you are afraid of slightly rough rums, add 10-30% of water, that will help you out.
Mouth-feel is sharp at first, but then becomes very pleasant, as the dundery funk kicks in and begins to tickle the tongue with hints of over-ripe fruits, dark dried fruits, mud, molasses, a hint of sweetness, something remotely smokey (BBQ sauce is close, I would say) and some vegetal notes. Something grassy is also to be found. And a lot that I find hard to put into words. Wonderfully complex.
Could be double the price and people would be more poetic about it. Not sure if I would buy it at double the price, but currently it is a bargain in comparison to other rums.

While it is funky, it is also relatively well-behaved. I think that everyone who is not afraid of some flavour in their (dry!) rum, will like this.

Florin 🇷🇴 | 49 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Cutia este impunatoare dar sticla e conceputa sa imbie cu formele ei feminine bine rotunjite.

culoarea e de mahon si este un rom subtire , apos si trewcem la ce conteaza )

in miros te imbie cu ceva dulceag dar se observa rapid ca doar inima e dulceaga si e invaluita de cacao si condimente, dar si dulceata aceea pare ca ascunde ceva ..

si gusti .. gasesti acea cacao sublima si condimentele si o arsura destul de puternica dar care se imprastie bine si in echilibru cu aromele astfel incat sa si joace bine rorurile toate componentele.., si vine si dulceata aceea perfida )) care isi imprastie repede un iz de putreziciune )) , in final ramai cu un gust fin de tabac.

ma asteptam sa loveasca mai puternic acel gust specific jamaican (pe care l am mai intalnit doar la plantation xaimaca pana acum, unde este mai agresiv) dar l am descoperit a fi foarte bine integrat in arome .

ma asteptam sa fie un rom bun, surpriza a fost mare cand am realizat ca e cu mult mai bun decat ma asteptam , impresionant . probabil am sa supar pe multi cand voi spune ca pentru mine e pe aceeasi linie cu dictador 20, plantation xo, si foursquare premise care erau top 3 in ista mea pana la acest moment .

Incantat de cunostinta Appleton Estate ) Acum tanjesc dupa 21 , dar e starnita si mai tare si curiositatea de a incerca un rom cu semnatura jamaicana mai agresiva )

Kabi4 🇨🇿 | 34 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Wow.... so nice color ... and bottle as well... unbelievable smell....bitter in the end... i was lucky and bought 0.7 for 18€ 👍😉

Ladislao 🇷🇺 | 36 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Его можно долго смаковать, выделяя все новые и новые оттенки и вкусы. Я бы охарактеризовал его как - сглаженная Ямайка, с тем самым темный дерзким фанком. Прекрасный напиток!

Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Nice Molasses/baking spice without being too sweet, and just enough funk. Very smooth.

Pure_Taste 🇩🇰 | 7 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I like rums that are not over-sugared. Since Jamaica does not allow to sweetening rums, this is a nice sipping rum for purists. Fully recommended.

L.e.d 🇨🇿 | 25 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Parádní suchý, nedoslazovaný rum.
Vůně je hodně dřevitá, možná sudy po whiskey. Po dlouhém zkoušení a hledání jsem objevil lehké tóny vanilky a čokolády.
Chuť podle mě odpovídá vůni. Silně je tu cítit sud a i podle chuti bych tipoval whiskey. Přidala se chuť medu a vanilky a čokoláda mi zmizela...
Dojezd je pěkně dlouhý...

buyerdrink20 🇵🇪 | 10 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Guindones y frutos maduros en nariz, un ron bastante agradable, lleno de sabor aunque esté no persiste mucho en boca