Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10
283 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
11
25
105
95
39
5

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

283 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 5 months ago by Brody 🇨🇿 | 106 ratings

Typical dry Appleton, taste of nuts, orange, vanilla, dark sugar.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bob 🇺🇸 | 74 ratings

I'm surprised that the dominant flavor of this rum reminds me of El Dorado 8 year rum but with a lighter body less sweet finish. I've never been a big fan of Jamaican rums or Appleton in particular but I decided to give this less common 12 year rare blend a try. It's smooth and doesn't have much burn to it at all, however it's just doesn't really fit in my highly prefered category (I'm more of a Cuban, Bajan, or Venezualen style guy I guess). Good to mix just not my favorite flavors in here to sip. I will update this rating as I try more of it bc i often find that I have to transition into liking other rums after each bottle I try. Update: it had grown on me and wen I smell t I say "mmmm". Good stuff for having no added sugar at all. It's definitely a funky fruity whiskey tasting English style rum that has bold flavor.

Posted 5 years ago by Carsten 🇩🇪 | 12 ratings

Mein 12. Rating
Ich konnte diesen Rum als Blitzangebot für 20€ abgreifen und konnte nicht widerstehen. Hat sich der Kauf gelohnt?

Preis: ca. 20-30€

Geruch:
Je länger er steht, desto intensiver wird das Fassaroma deutlich. Allerdings überwiegt der typische Jamaika-Rum-Geruch. Sehr würzig und irgendwie fruchtig.

Geschmack pur (Note 5):
Erst kommt das fruchtige (typische Jamaika-Rum-) Aroma an. Gefolgt von brennenden 43%-igem Alkoholgehalt, welchem eine angenehme Würze folgt und lecker-trocken im Gaumen haften bleibt.
Der Geschmack ist recht eigen.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 6):
Die Cola verleiht dem Appleton Estate Rare Blend eine angenehme Süße, die er alleine nicht aufweisen kann. Von daher harmoniert die Combi schon ganz gut und es wird ein leckeres Getränk daraus. Allerding fehlen mir weitere Geschmacksnoten von Vanille, Karamell etc. Das einzige was ich schmecken kann ist der typische Jamaika-Rum-Geschmack mit einer Fass-Note.

Fazit:
In Cola ganz lecker, aber insgesamt zu eindimensional und zu würzig. Mir fehlt die Geschmacksvielfalt.
Weiter ist mir aufgefallen, dass dieser typische Jamaika-Rum-Geschmack nicht so mein Favorit ist und es mich eher an Deutschem "Billigrum" erinnert. Dies ist dieser Rum auf keinen Fall, aber an einem El Dorado 12 kommt er bei weitem nicht ran.

Posted 5 years ago by Sgt. Rook 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings

Traditionally you use pussers rum in a key west pain killer but know I prefer this 12 rare aged. It's a little pricey to keep in the bar for 1 drink but when I see it I'll get it. Lots of spice and some sweetness but has a burn if your sipping it.

Posted 5 years ago by Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 559 ratings

This frustrates me that the best appleton rum I have tried is the special gold as any other aged rum seems over sweet and the complexion of the taste altered too much which is a shame really. With other rum companies they entice you by flavours to taste the more expensive stuff, I find with Appleton I am less inclined to taste the older more expensive rum..

Posted 5 years ago by Tequilalex 🇨🇦 | 15 ratings

Very smooth with close to zero sugar. It is very difficult to only drink one. Priced for everyday sipping, but tastes like a occasional treat. Will definitely explore more products from Appleton.
(37.50 CAD in Apr 2017)

Posted 5 years ago by Dave 🇬🇧 | 10 ratings

A beautiful smooth woody mature flavour, and just superb over ice. One to keep away form your guests, so as to not waste one drop.

Posted 5 years ago by Tom Rhoads 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings

I have been trying many rums and finding them sweet and easy to drink, almost too easy to drink. This one is quite a change as I would expect from Appleton. I forgot how great their rums are. It took a little water added for me to allow the rum to open up a little.

Posted 5 years ago by Mazze 🇩🇪 | 9 ratings

Riecht in der Flasche gut, im Glas schon deutlich schärfer. Als Fan von milden, fruchtigen, süßen Rumvarianten, trifft dieser nicht meinen Geschmack.

Posted 5 years ago by Lawson 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings

I thought I was on my honeymoon. A perfect example of an excellent Jamaican rum. A nice potpourri of honey, orange, molasses and a nice smooth tobacco finish. Wonderful sipper. Enjoy!

Posted 5 years ago by Dennis Kjer 🇩🇰 | 33 ratings

Ganske fint glas. Duften til den spidse side, men en behagelig eftersmag med en tilpas sødme. Ikke for sød eller i nærheden af at være tør.




Brand Details

Name: Rare Blend 12-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2915
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514