Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10
283 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
11
25
105
95
39
5

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

283 Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 months ago by Pacorro 🇪🇸 | 81 ratings

En nariz buen toque de roble con notas dulces en el buen sentido en boca se notan los 40 grados pero hay que reconocer el equilibrio ya que no tiene un gusto muy alcohólico, no está mal me costó 17'50€ y lo he encontrado ya que compré hace 2 años 2 botellas y resulta que eran diferentes, no creo que lo vuelva a adquirir, creo que los hay mejores a manor precio.

Posted 7 months ago by emphaze 🇧🇬 | 3 ratings

This one is in my top 5 of sippers and as the other 4 cost twice its price, I give it a full score with clean conscience.
A good cigar is also a nice way to experience it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings

In their 'Estate Blend', which is more interesting than great, I found some qualities that needed more research so here I am, with a glass of their 12yo 'Rare Blend'. It is not typical Jamaican in the sense that it is relative low on esters; it is much closer to St. Lucia's 'Chairmans Reserve' or Mount Gay's XO as far as pot still influence goes.
I am halfway my second bottle and it still surprises me but I can tell for sure this rum has gotten it's own altar overhere.

It is a dark blend with murky flavours and a little rough around the edges. Apart from the usual suspects (vanilla, oak, fudge and various fruity flavors) it has dark tobacco, smokey and leathery notes and a very pleasant oaky kind of finish. The strange thing is that for me its closest competitor is Mount Gay's XO which is also a darker, murkier kind of rum. The 'Rare Blend' is slightly rougher and darker and , at least for me, delivers more. So I accept the lower price, the simpler screwcap and simply accept that this affordable rum is in truth a stunning expression of a not that easy rum. It needs a bit of an acquired taste but if you are into dry rums and you like a bit of roughness in your rum this is a must try! A keeper for sure!

Posted over 1 year ago by svarszegi 🇭🇺 | 22 ratings

This a truly great sipping rum. I only drink it neat, no ice. The smoky-sweet, yet manly aroma will make you love it.

Posted over 2 years ago by DjAugust 🇭🇺 | 28 ratings

Notes of ripe banana and some vanilla on the nose. Smells sweeter than it tastes on the palate (which I so not mean as criticism). Nice taste with some some tobacco-ish overtones, has some alcoholic burn stronger than, say, an El Dorado or a Diplo.

Posted over 2 years ago by J1gg1ns 🇬🇧 | 59 ratings

I bought a bottle of this for my birthday as i saw it in Tesco on sale for £30 so thought i would give it a shot without knowing much about it. I normally enjoy any rum anyway so didn't mind the risk of a blind buy. The flavour in the initial mouthful is fairly good but the finish when you swallow is quite incredible! I am not an expert in notes and flavours etc so i do not know what this is but damn, does it taste good! It is not that sweet and has a nice dry oaky taste and is practically a glass of heaven when a single ice cube is added. I have tried about 20 rums now and at the time of writing, this remains in my top 3 due to that fantastic finish. I definitely want to try some of that Joy anniversary blend!!

Posted over 2 years ago by wArChiEf 🇦🇹 | 17 ratings

No Sugar added; great nose/taste, very fruity - that's rum for me. Price is awesome for this Jamaican Perfection. Cool Man ;)

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 317 ratings

It’s together with Chairman’s Reserve and the 5 year old English Harbour my best every day rums by moment.
Th balance is good, it’s fruity and spicy and you can taste the barrel.
Picture: My Appleton shelf.

Posted 5 years ago by Seb 🇨🇦 | 40 ratings

Not bad, smooth, but not as much depth as my favourite El dorados

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad 🇺🇸 | 134 ratings

The funk is there, but 12 years have taken the edge off and left a very smooth, well-rounded versatile product. It's not often I reach for a funky rum, they are generally not my favorite, but this is the one I go for and it does everything well. SUPERIOR mixer.

sugar test- 0

Posted 1 month ago by Xfabreguettes 🇬🇧 | 20 ratings

A really nice find as it is rich and complex and well balanced. Glorious colour too.




Brand Details

Name: Rare Blend 12-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514