Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cockspur 12-Year rum

Cockspur 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV | Pot and Column Still

7.0/10
72 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
5
2
14
20
25
6
0

Rate Cockspur 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

72 Cockspur 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

laurent 🇫🇷 | 64 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nose : I smell some esters : very slightly "jamaican" I would say ? Mostly Alcohol at the beginning but let your glass breathe for a while and some better aromas will come. Taste : quite smooth, oaky/vanilla. I find the taste very different (and smoother ) from the nose which is always something interesting.
OK it is not smooth and complex as others (RL Seales...) bot honnestly at this price tag it is really more than decent ! A good surprise. Perfect to try a "true" bajan rhum for a budg if you only know sugar-syrup like rhums.

Le nez me rappelle un peu les rhums jamaicains , toute proportion gardée. Comme beaucoup d'autres rhums il mérite de s'évaporer un peu quelques minutes sinon on sent surtout l'alcool. En bouche c'est plutôt sympa, finalement beaucoup plus doux et rond que le nez le laissait présager. Pas mal de boisé et de vanille, pas autant que du RL Seale's ou des rhums plus chers mais franchement à ce prix c'est plus qu'honnête. Une bonne surprise quoi.
Je le recommanderais à ceux qui veulent savoir ce qu'est du "vrai" rhum de la Bardbade sans se ruiner.

Surfyguitar 🇺🇸 | 56 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Excellent sipper in the style of Abuelo 12, El Dorado 15, Zaya, and Zacapa. I prefer this to Mount Gay which is dryer and oakier.

Markku 🇫🇮 | 12 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

So this is cockspur 12, not 12 year old, its 12. Something that average age of rums in the this bottle is about 12 year old. But 12 years in Caribbean islnads is long time in maturation. This is very well matured and smooth, Something like aged bourbon or cognac, not as fine as cognac, not so big as bourbon. But this is very good and quite cheap. Real bargain and high quality. Not very rummy rum, but I really recommend this, if you like whisky and cognac also. But if you hate all other things and drink only rum, then ... I don't know...

Jannik Schwarzbart 🇩🇰 | 49 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

It was not really me, with it's light color, strong alcohol taste, smell/taste/aftertaste didn't really give me anything. But sure, drinkable.

Grand Master Jay 🇬🇧 | 80 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I managed to pick a bottle of this up in Barbados after recommendation from a bar worker after him telling me to try it.

This is a sipper a good one too. Its not overlly sweet and a tad dry but this is a nice rum to own. You could mix this wirh coke and not be annoyed to be honest it is a versatile drink.

Deedee H. 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Picked up on a cruise. Nice bottle and color. Passable on taste and smoothness. Not my first choice.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

This is a great rum from Barbados. Huge flavor here. This is fantastic. Well worth the cost. My only issue was a broken natural cork when opening. If you like loud flavored rum with a strong start to finish this is it.

thefatrumpirate 🇬🇧 | 121 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Style rum see my full review at
http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Tito Jackson 🇺🇸 | 28 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

A bit too strong of a bitter taste for my liking. Bold with very few sweet notes. For those who like a one taste rum.

BerodeQuentin 🇫🇷 | 40 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

Nothing incredible from that barbados distillerie, the oak flavor is to present...

Chris 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted 11 years ago

I got this thinking it was VSOR...still good though




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Cockspur
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Total Wine
Loading...