Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cockspur 12-Year rum

Cockspur 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV | Pot and Column Still

7.0/10
72 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
5
2
14
20
25
6
0

Rate Cockspur 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

72 Cockspur 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Vince 🇨🇦 | 57 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

À venir prochainement.............................

Turambar 🇫🇷 | 19 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Un rhum britannique avec des notes rappelant parfois le Caroni, parfois le rhum traditionnel, mais avec une finesse moindre.
Des notes de pétrole, caoutchouc, mais aussi de caramel et de fruits exotiques en nez. Bouche légère, courte, moyennement sucrée, avec un peu de fruits. Finale courte.
Intéressant mais dispensable.

laurent 🇫🇷 | 64 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nose : I smell some esters : very slightly "jamaican" I would say ? Mostly Alcohol at the beginning but let your glass breathe for a while and some better aromas will come. Taste : quite smooth, oaky/vanilla. I find the taste very different (and smoother ) from the nose which is always something interesting.
OK it is not smooth and complex as others (RL Seales...) bot honnestly at this price tag it is really more than decent ! A good surprise. Perfect to try a "true" bajan rhum for a budg if you only know sugar-syrup like rhums.

Le nez me rappelle un peu les rhums jamaicains , toute proportion gardée. Comme beaucoup d'autres rhums il mérite de s'évaporer un peu quelques minutes sinon on sent surtout l'alcool. En bouche c'est plutôt sympa, finalement beaucoup plus doux et rond que le nez le laissait présager. Pas mal de boisé et de vanille, pas autant que du RL Seale's ou des rhums plus chers mais franchement à ce prix c'est plus qu'honnête. Une bonne surprise quoi.
Je le recommanderais à ceux qui veulent savoir ce qu'est du "vrai" rhum de la Bardbade sans se ruiner.

CBags 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This was the first sipping rum I tried, and every time I have it...it still holds up.

Andy Muniak 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I got into this rum from my father in law who made it his go to after Mount Gay decided to increase their price on XO (had to pay for that fancy new bottle design somehow). It is a great to sip on and has notes of vanilla and is very smooth. The mouth feel is not as thick as say Diplomatico or some of the other longer aged rums, but it nonetheless excellent.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

The aroma in the bottle is mild...subtle even. I think Barbados is rapidly becoming my favorite source for rums and I'm not certain why. I notice that a lot of the rums I really like come from Barbados. Hmmm...maybe it's time to take a vacation there. A nice sweetness in its flavor with a little of an oak tingle...quite smooth with no real burn...just a nice warmth that flows down the throat and lingers leaving a nice caramel aftertaste. Definitely a good sipping rum.

bill 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This one good, but compared to the other 12 year old rums, its just not there. Glad I tried it, but I won't buy it again.

Hedonist 🇩🇪 | 59 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

So far this one is my favorite from Barbados, after I became disappointed by the Barbados rums from the Foursquare company. But still, the Guyanan Rums are still my favorite.

Pandur 🇦🇹 | 90 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

...das war es dann leider auch schon. Einen Versuch war es wert, einen zweiten wird es nicht geben.

YMHC 🇳🇱 | 162 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Herkomst: Barbados
Abv: 40%
Fles: 70cl, incl. kurk.
Prijs: €25
Kleur: amber
Aroma: karamel, hout, alcohol.
Smaak: bitter en licht zoet. Alcohol op een goede manier aanwezig. Karamel, citrus en hout.
Nasmaak: ietwat zoet, eindigt droog.

Prima Bajan rum. Vergelijkbaar met Mount Gay XO maar iets zachter.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Cockspur
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Total Wine
Loading...