Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cockspur 12-Year rum

Cockspur 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV | Pot and Column Still

7.0/10
72 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
5
2
14
20
25
6
0

Rate Cockspur 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

72 Cockspur 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

laurent 🇫🇷 | 64 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nose : I smell some esters : very slightly "jamaican" I would say ? Mostly Alcohol at the beginning but let your glass breathe for a while and some better aromas will come. Taste : quite smooth, oaky/vanilla. I find the taste very different (and smoother ) from the nose which is always something interesting.
OK it is not smooth and complex as others (RL Seales...) bot honnestly at this price tag it is really more than decent ! A good surprise. Perfect to try a "true" bajan rhum for a budg if you only know sugar-syrup like rhums.

Le nez me rappelle un peu les rhums jamaicains , toute proportion gardée. Comme beaucoup d'autres rhums il mérite de s'évaporer un peu quelques minutes sinon on sent surtout l'alcool. En bouche c'est plutôt sympa, finalement beaucoup plus doux et rond que le nez le laissait présager. Pas mal de boisé et de vanille, pas autant que du RL Seale's ou des rhums plus chers mais franchement à ce prix c'est plus qu'honnête. Une bonne surprise quoi.
Je le recommanderais à ceux qui veulent savoir ce qu'est du "vrai" rhum de la Bardbade sans se ruiner.

Luke 🇨🇿 | 134 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Pro mě excelentní vůně, poté co jsem ochutnal přes 80 druhů rumu začínám oceňovat výš ty bez cukru, díky kterého se kryjí neduhy, podobně jako u vína. Jen proto, že mi MountGay XO chutná o něco více a dostal 9 bodů, dávám Cockspuru 8+. Snad jen o chvilku déle v sudu a byla by alkoholová stopa jemnější. Což mu tady vytýkají ti co mají raději sirupy. Ztratil by ale svůj úžasný charakter nedoslazovaného rumu. Výborný rum za skvělé peníze.

gdtrfb 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Just does not have the balance of other aged bajan rums. Doorleys is a better option imo. more available in the states for a reasonable price.

xCorporalx 🇩🇪 | 98 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

...totally fine, yet nothing memorable.

It smells fresh, but the taste on the other hand does not convince for another bottle.

Try it as a premium mixer

6.0 to a 6.25

M.R.J. 🇫🇮 | 201 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Oddly chemical note in the overall taste. No additives, but...it isn't the finest out there.

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

For something so cheap, it's surprisingly rich, smooth, lots of flavor, sweet.

je_farley 🇺🇸 | 106 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Nice nose but not a real sipper, a bit overpowering on the alcohol side. A great blend of sweets with just a bit of spice. The malty background adds the perfect touch making this a great value in my bar. Have not put it in a blender yet but expect it to add a different taste when replacing spiced rums.

Michal Micko (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 644 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Nice arome with warm tones, confirmed also during first taste. Full complex and smooth body, with shery tones, almost not burning. Aftertaste not bad, but very short.

mrakoplas 🇸🇰 | 35 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Typicky Barbadosan. V chuti spociatku sladky (avsak bez pridaneho cukru), potom suchy, melasa, ovocny a lahky. Velmi dobre sa pije, uz som si objednal dalsi :) Za mna urcite 8+ a viac

Loxias 🇨🇿 | 170 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Sweet aroma with hints of wood and black tea.
Taste is full sherrylike sweet and mild. Finish is also sweet reminding El Dorado 12

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 474 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Since I am a fan of Cockspur 5-Star, I was wanting to try it's older brother from a well stocked rum bar. Out of the five pours of one half ounce each, this one was the second worst. I could not even finish it due to it's bitterness from spending too long of a time in the wood. I am glad that I could not find an entire bottle to waste my money on.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Cockspur
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Total Wine
Loading...